Wexford People

| 7.8°C Dublin

Tributes paid as Oyster Lane stalwarts step down

IT WAS the beginning of a new year for Oyster Lane Theatre Group as they held their Annual General Meeting in the Friary Hall on School Street.

It was a sad occasion for some, with Paula Malone Carty stepping down as Chairperson after serving for four years.

'Paula has been a revelation for the group with her unrivalled commitment to helping Oyster Lane progress throughout the years,' said PRO Robbie Duggan.

'Joining committee way back in 1995, that makes 15 years and she has given 100 per cent for each of those. Her presence will be missed by all,' he said.

'Also stepping off the committee and another diamond in the crown is Eric Hayes,' said Robbie.

'Eric served as Treasurer for the past three years and his expertise will be sorely missed. Unfortunately Eric has work commitments to attend to and can no longer give the commitment required to Oyster Lane,' he said. Others stepping down were Marian O'Leary and Rebecca Kelly who served as committee members. The incoming committee for 2010 is as follows: Jackie Fitzhenry – Chairperson; Charmaine Wilson – Secretary; Robbie Duggan – PRO, and Majella Londra – Fundraising Officer. A Treasurer is yet to be appointed.

The remaining committee members are Dylan Walsh, Linda Hynes, Mary Clancy, James McDermott, Jamie Doyle and Lorraine Busher Carley.

The AGM was well attended and ran very smoothly with only a small number of topics up for discussion. The new committee will now start preparing for the year ahead.

The first task will be to decide on this year's show, which will be staged during the Opera Festival in October at the Dun Mhuire Theatre. Watch this space for more!

You can also keep up to date with Oyster Lane Theatre Group online. Visit www. oysterlane. com or follow the group on Twitter and Facebook.

Daily Update Newsletter

Get your lunchtime news fix with the afternoon newsletter. Monday to Friday.

This field is required