Wexford People

| 13.6°C Dublin

New speed limits for 250 housing estates in Wexford

David Tucker examines new bylaws which will bring 30 km/h speed limits to many Co Wexford housing estates


Some of the housing estates in Wexford town where a 30 km/h limit is proposed (in yellow), and roads which will have a 50 km/h limit (in blue)

Some of the housing estates in Wexford town where a 30 km/h limit is proposed (in yellow), and roads which will have a 50 km/h limit (in blue)

Some of the housing estates in Wexford town where a 30 km/h limit is proposed (in yellow), and roads which will have a 50 km/h limit (in blue)

'Home Zone' speed limits in 250 housing estates in County Wexford will be set at 30 km/h (18 miles an hour) when new bylaws come into force later in the year.

The bylaws will apply to all drivers with the exception of ambulances, fire brigades and vehicles used by An Gard Síochána in the performance of their duties, and are likely to be in place by July after the document setting out the new limit bylaws is adopted by the council.

The existing built-up area speed limit is 50 kilometres an hour.

The new 50 km/h limit is among a package of new limits due to come before the council later in the year, including the provision of 50 km/h and 60 km/h on some roads where higher limits are currently in force.

David Codd, chief technician at Wexford County Council said the draft bye laws have been prepared based on all submissions received since the adoption of the last bye laws in 2008.

'We have consulted with An Garda Siochana regarding the proposed changes and also consulted with adjoining local authorities to ensure consistency on the application of speed limits across the county boundaries,' he said.

The draft bylaws include a proposed 30km/h 'Home Zone' speed limit and this will be implemented in over 250 housing estates across the four districts of the County.

The main proposed changes to the existing speed limit bye laws include:

The introduction of the first periodic speed limits in County Wexford - 40km/h at school times on the N30 at Clonroche National School and 30km/h at school times on the N11 at Camolin National School.

(These speed limits are only legal for specific times of the day and from Monday to Friday as per the Department of Education School calendar)

Proposed alterations to the speed limits on the National Road network as recommended by Transport Infrastructure Ireland at the following locations N11 Rosslare Harbour to Kilrane, N11 Tagoat, N11 Oilgate, N11 Enniscorthy, N11 Ferns, N11 Camolin, N25 New Ross, N30 Clonroche and N80 Bunclody and the introduction of village speed limits at Monamolin, Tara Hill and Tombrack.

Mr Codd said the village limits at Monamolin and Tara Hill include both 50 and 60km/h limits.

'Tombrack, which was not included in the current draft bye laws on display will now have a 50km/h speed limit implemented following an observation submitted by a member of the public during the current public consultation phase,' he said.

The alterations on the National network vary from location to location.

Mr Codd said the new limits, being recommended by the Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII), are to help achieve consistency in the implementation of speed limits on the National Road network across the country.

Welcoming the new lower limits, Inspector Denis Whelan said gardai were urging motorists to abide by all speed limits, including the new 30 km/h restrictions. 'Wexford gardai will continue to carry out checkpoints on roads and in estates and if we receive a complaint or complaints in relation to any area, we will act on the matter,' he said. Wexford Mayor Cllr Jim Moore quesioned how the new limits would be policed, but said people had to take personal responsibility for the way they drive.

In Wexford Districts the new bylaws will be implemented in Ard Aláinn, Millhaven, The Cloisters and Oaktree Heights, St Ibars Villas, Mill Park, and Foxborough, in Castlebridge; Carrigmannon Park in Glynn; An Cnocáin, Páirc Naomh Padraig, Ballyknockan, Greenore Park, La Rochelle and St. Brendan's Estate in Kilrane/Rosslare Harbour; Redwood Park in Murrintown; Lakeside, Our Lady's Island; Rosetown Village, Rosslare Strand and St. Anne's Park, Tomhaggard. In Wexford town, a 30km limit will apply in Ashfield Drive, Ferndale Park, Shannagh Court, Belvedere Grove, Lus Mór (Whiterock Hill), Liam Mellows Park, Corish Park, Whiterock View, Wolfe Tone Villas, College Green (Summerhill), Westgate Park and Maudlintown (Antelope Road, Hantoon Road, Dolphin Road, Gulbar Road, St. Brendan's Estate, Eden Vale Avenue and Saltee Avenue).

In Wexford district, Echo Beach and Ard na Ba in Kilmore Quay, various roads and estates in Kilrane, Rosslare Harbour, Lakeside and Loch Tochair View, in Lady's Island, Redwood Park and John Paul Park, in Murntown, Rosetown Village and Glendale in Rosslare, Pugin Park, Yola Close and Laurel Grove.

In Enniscorthy district, estates include Ballagh Cove, Glentire Heights, Ard na Greine, in Ballaghkeen, St Coleman's Park in Ballindaggin, Rylan Wiid, Termonbarry, St Mary's Villas, and Carrig Ban, in Bunclody, Cloney Park, in Davidstown; In Enniscorthy town they include, Riverwood, Gort na Silini, Marconi Park, Cluain Charman, Madeira Grove, Madeira Wood, Andy Doyle Close, Millbrook, Daphne View, Ard Alain. Drumgoold Villas, Gimont Avenue, and The Orchard; Griffith Avenue, in Kiltealy, St David's Terrace and Cum an Tobair, in Oilgate, and Mayview Park, in Oulart. Speed restrictions of 50 km/h will apply on sections of country roads including at Ballagheen, Ballindaggin, Ballyhoge, Ballymurn, Blackwater, Bree, Bunclody, Courtnacuddy and Davidstown.

30 km/h limits will be imposed in areas of the Gorey District inclduing Village Gate, Ounavarra Park, Ballycanew Court, The Grove, in Camolin, Glenbeg Point, addresses in Courtown, Riverchapel, Ardamine and Pollshore, Rosemay Heights in Ferns, Meadowgate, Hazelwood, Clonattin Estate and Willos Park amoong addresses in Gorey town, with 50 km/h limits proposed in various roads in Askamore, Ballycanew, Ballyduff, Ballyfad, Ballygarrett, Ballymoney, Camolin, Castletown, Coolgreany, Ferns, Gorey town, Hollyfort and Killinierin;

In the New Ross district, 30 km/h limits will come into force at built-up areas of Adamstown, Ballycullane, Ballywilliam, Campile, Carrick, Clongeen, Clonroche, Duncannon, Fethard, Newbawn, various estates and roads in the town, inclduing Assumption Terrace, Barrett's Park, Brooklawn and Chambersland, while 50 km/h limits will be brought in on roads in Adamstown, Arthurstown, Ballyhack, Ballywilliam, Campile, Carrick, Carrowreagh, Cassagh, Clongeen, Clonroche, Foulksmills, Gusserane, Newbawn, Old Ross, Poulfur, Ramsgrange and Wellingtonbridge.

For a full list of all the proposed changes, visit the Roads, Travel & Parking section at wexfordcoco.ie and navigate through 'Speed limits' to 'Draft special speed limit byelaws 2018'.

Wexford People