Wexford People

| 6.5°C Dublin

Gala dinner for Arts Centre's 45th


Ann Hensman, Rosemary Hayes, Maria Nolan and Nick Asple

Ann Hensman, Rosemary Hayes, Maria Nolan and Nick Asple

Ann Hensman, Rosemary Hayes, Maria Nolan and Nick Asple

Wexford Arts Centre held a gala fundraising dinner in Green Acres to celebrate the organisation's 45th anniversary.

CEO Elizabeth Whyte welcomed everyone to a wine reception sponsored by Greenacres in the upstairs gallery in Selskar.

Mayor of Wexford Cllr George Lawlor recalled some key events in the years since the opening of the Arts Centre in 1974 and spoke about the former Town Hall building as an illustrious venue where the town's annual Mayoral elections are held.

He commended the CEO Ms Whyte and her team on their contribution to the arts and culture in Wexford.

Wexford Arts Centre chairperson Rosemary Hayes thanked her fellow board members, the centre's sub-committees and staff and re-iterated the need for ongoing support from the community and from sponsors.

During the night, an auction of artworks was held with Bill Kelly of Kelly's Resort Hotel in Rosslare donating paintings by Patricia Mann and Paula Coyne and artists Martina Furlong, Tony Mullen and Lar O'Duinn making donations of their work.

Local businesses contributed generously to a bumper raffle which was organised by Kelly Roche, marketing associate at the Arts Centre.

Among the guests in attendance were representatives of Wexford County Council, including the CEO Tom Enright, the arts officer Liz Burns and Creative Ireland co-ordinator and county librarian Eileen Morrissey, along with business representatives including Bill Kelly, Eamonn Buttle, Fred Karlsson, Eamon Murphy and Ronan Furlong.

A large number of artists supported the event, including Michael and Irene Way, Wexford Drama Group chairperson Anne Marie Walsh, art curator Anya von Gosseln and the head of Wexford School of Art and Design Oliver Comerford.

A talented line-up of performers graced the stage to entertain the guests, including Aileen Donohoe and Pet McCamley, Billy Roche, Peter Murphy, Michelle Dooley Mahon, The Man Whom (Ian Doyle), the Remedy Club (Aileen Mythen and KJ McEvoy), Mick Egan, Sharon Clancy and the Kevin Lawlor Trio, including Patrick Molitor and Peter Vogelaar, joined later by Melanie O'Reilly.

The entertainment was opened and closed by Helen Mulkerns and Josh Johnston of Cáca Milis Cabaret. The event raised €4,000. People can still make donations to Wexford Arts Centre, which is a registered charity organisation, by texting WEXARTS to 50300 to donate €4 for an arts education programme, or by joining as a friend or sponsor. Visit www.wexfordartscentre.ie for details.

Wexford People