Sunday 18 March 2018

'Elected councillor should be chairman of new committee'

An elected councillor should be the chairman of the new LCDC (local community development committee).

That was the view of Cllr Larry O'Brien as Wexford County Council discussed the formation of the organisation with its multi-million euro budget.

The committee charged with stimulating the Model economy to create more jobs and tackle social inequality will have four councillors on its board.

But the elected representatives will be joined by a large number of officials and nominees of various other organisations.

Some members of the county council were worried about the effect of new body on Wexford Local Development and its 60 staff.

They were told that some WLD functions will be unaffected while the organisation will be free to tender for other jobs due to be tackled by the new organisation.

'We need to be positive about this,' was the line taken by Cllr Michael Sheehan before the council formally set up the LCDC.

The motion was opposed by Cllr Deirdre Wadding, with members of Sinn Féin, several independents and John Hegarty abstaining. Cllr Hegarty is a member of the board of WLD.

Cllr O'Brien's call for the selection of one of the four councillors nominated to the board of LCDC was passed.

The quartet comprises Tony Dempsey and Michael Sheehan with Anthony Donohoe and Kathleen Codd Nolan of Fine Gael.

Meanwhile, Cllrs. Robbie Ireton (Labour), Jim Moore and John Hegarty (both Fine Gael) remain on the board of WLD which has been providing a range of initiatives from local employment schemes to Traveller support.

Wexford People

Most Read