Enniscorthy CBS aces secure emphatic success in Leinster final

The Leinster title-winning St. Mary's CBS (Enniscorthy) squad.

Wexford People

Enniscorthy CBS 4 De La Salle (Dundalk) 0

ENNISCORTHy CBS produced their best performance of the season to see off De La Salle (Dundalk) in Jackson Park on Tuesday of last week to take home the Leinster Under-17 ‘A’ Cup.

The St. Mary’s boys, who have a great track record in this competition, completely dominated this encounter to take the provincial title, advance to the national semi-final and setting up a mouth-watering tie with St. Eunan’s of Letterkenny tomorrow (Thursday).

Enniscorthy picked a great time to produce their best performance of the season. Eamonn Asple in goal did everything that was asked of him, while the back four of Cormac Casey, Brennan O’Neill, Robert Cahill and Shayne McDonald were rock solid.

It was a showing of the utmost quality, as Jack Byrne and Ryan Donohoe ran the legs off themselves in midfield with tireless displays.

Their energy and endeavour allowed captain Jamie Pepper to get forward in support of Darragh Harris, Seán Hyland and Lucas Fitzpatrick to form a deadly quadruple threat.

Three substitutes were introduced to make an impact, with Colin and Brian Ivers and Johnny Rossiter all coming on to good effect.

However, it has been a full squad effort over double-digits games in this campaign, and this win came about because of the efforts of everyone involved.

Probably Enniscorthy’s weakest spell was the opening ten minutes as they attempted to adjust to the horrible wet and windy conditions.

That said, Asple remained untested between the sticks, with De La Salle’s long balls keeping O’Neill and Cahill honest but never leaving them unduly concerned.

Enniscorthy started to settle as the game moved past the ten-minute mark, and Ryan Donohoe and Seán Hyland both had opportunities to open the scoring.

However, the goal did come midway through the period, when Lucas Fitzpatrick picked up possession 20 yards from the Dundalk box, dribbled past two players, and was fouled inside the area.

Darragh Harris stepped up and converted a cheeky spot-kick, sending the ‘keeper the wrong way.

Enniscorthy continued to push on and it was one-way traffic up to the interval, with Lucas Fitzpatrick running the show.

However, it wasn’t until just before the break that they doubled their lead. Harris fired over an outswinging corner that Donohoe met with his head at the back post, nodding it down and past the Dundalk shot-stopper.

Filled with confidence and powering forward at every opportunity, Enniscorthy looked to put the game to bed early in the second-half. Five minutes in, Lucas Fitzpatrick fired home a cracking shot from the edge of the box.

Seán Hyland looked to have completely wrapped it up a few minutes later but he was denied by a linesman’s flag. However, the De La Salle relief was shortlived, with Fitzpatrick firing home the fourth goal before the end of the third quarter.

With the game wrapped up, CBS endured their only disappointment of the day when Cormac Casey was dismissed for a late tackle.

The incident led to a pair of Dundalk players picking up red cards too, meaning the game was concluded with just 19 players on the pitch.

Enniscorthy were comfortable in that spell. Harris and Colin Ivers had chances to add to the advantage, while Asple made a solid stop one-on-one at the other end.

They now face Letterkenny in the FAI Schools Tom Ticher Junior National Cup semi-final on Thursday, with a place opposite Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh (Bishopstown) or Rice College (Westport) up for grabs on April 19.

Enniscorthy CBS: Eamonn Asple; Cormac Casey, Brennan O’Neill, Robert Cahill, Shayne McDonald; Jack Byrne, Jamie Pepper (capt.), Ryan Donohoe; Darragh Harris, Seán Hyland, Lucas Fitzpatrick. Subs. - Colin Ivers for Donohoe, Brian Ivers for Pepper, Johnny Rossiter for Hyland, also Charlie Donnelly, Shane Reddy, Robbie Breen, Jack Leacy, John Miller, Oisín Devereux, Jack Nolan (inj.), Kevin Barron-Dobbs (inj.).