| 15.3°C Dublin

Whelan helps Naomh Éanna beat his former club



Naomh Éanna 4-22 Buffers Alley 0-16

FORMER BUFFERS Alley man Seán Óg Whelan was among the goals as recently-crowned Division 5 league champions Naomh Éanna bested the Kilmuckridge men in Saturday’s Permanent TSB Junior ‘A’ hurling championship round two clash in Páirc Uí Shíocháin.

Caellum Travers scrambled home the first of his two goals on eight minutes to open up a 1-5 to 0-3 gap, before Gearóid Cullen netted on 18 minutes as the home side generated a 2-6 to 0-6 advantage.

And Whelan chipped in with three points as Naomh Éanna developed a 2-9 to 0-9 interval lead.

This is Wexford Newsletter

A weekly update on the top stories from County Wexford in news and sport, direct to your inbox

This field is required

Cian Ó Tuama and Brendan Travers both had goal strikes deflected at the expense of points by Buffers Alley custodian Cian O’Connor midway through the second-half.

But, while the ever-reliable Owen Dempsey was helping to keep the visitors ticking over, Naomh Éanna consolidated back-to-back opening wins as Seán Óg Whelan lashed to the net on 56 minutes, before Caellum Travers added his second a minute later.

Naomh Éanna: Rory Tubritt; Conor Kelly, Lee Kinsella, Rúairí Sheil; Micheál Kennedy, Rian Fitzpatrick, Tiernan Black; Seán Óg Whelan (1-3), Daragh Canavan (0-2); Cian Ó Tuama (0-4), Gearóid Cullen (1-7, 0-3 frees), Peter Travers (capt.); Dylan Cooke-Leonard, Brendan Travers (0-3), Caellum Travers (2-1). Sub. – Thomas Wheatley (0-2) for Cooke-Leonard (HT).

Buffers Alley: Cian O’Connor; Conor Kenny, John O’Donovan, James Reilly; Dylan McEvoy, Colm Óg Doran, Leonard Lacey (0-1); Dolan Doyle, Tomás Whelan; Owen Dempsey (0-10, 7 frees), Walter Gahan (0-1), Oisín Fortune (0-3); Michael Butler (0-1), Seán Kirwan, Robert Donnelly. Sub. – Fiachra Fortune for Donnelly (50).

Referee: Eddie O’Sullivan (Kilanerin).