| 14.1°C Dublin

Stalemate suits St. Anne’s and Ballyhogue




BOTH ST. Anne’s and Ballyhogue booked their spots in the knockout stages of the Permanent TSB Junior ‘A’ hurling championship with a stalemate in Rathangan on Sunday.

The result, while not desired by either, worked just perfectly for both as they moved to five points each from four games. They had to wait a little while for confirmation, but Blackwater’s win against Tara Rocks later in the evening means the top four are safely through.

The visitors made the big impression towards the end of the first-half, building a lead on the back of a string of points.

This is Wexford Newsletter

A weekly update on the top stories from County Wexford in news and sport, direct to your inbox

This field is required

St. Anne’s did have a bright start on home turf, as David Kavanagh nabbed 1-1 in the opening quarter and Jess Codd notched a brace as they led by 1-3 to 0-5.

The scores were shared around more freely at the other end, as Shane Byrne, Peter Kelly (two), and the Minogues, Enda and Ronan, were all on target in the early stages.

Their side built a second quarter lead, with Enda Minogue (three) and Shane Doyle (two) on target to send Ballyhogue into a 0-10 to 1-4 interval advantage.

Against the elements the scores were harder to come by for Ballyhogue. Minogue, Liam Doyle and David Hennebry did add a point each, but three Codd frees, plus minors from Andrew Walsh, Michael O’Brien and Adam Moore, ensured the spoils were shared.

St. Anne’s: Paul Brennan; Gavin O’Brien, Jack O’Brien, Barry Roche; Darren Moore, Kevin White, Jim Ryan; Cathal Murphy, Kevin Breen; Adam Moore (0-1), Andrew Walsh (0-1), Jess Codd (0-6 frees); Rory O’Brien, Kyle Kennedy, David Kavanagh (1-1). Subs. - Michael O’Brien (0-1) for Murphy, Seamus Mythen for Kennedy, Philip Rawson for R. O’Brien, Michael Cullen for Ryan.

Ballyhogue: Niall Maher; Eddie Galavan, Seán Rochford, Colm Parnell; Seán Ring, James Parle, Eamon Doyle; Shane Doyle (0-2), Enda Minogue (0-4); David Hennebry (0-1 free), Peter Kelly (0-2), Cian Wickham; Liam Doyle (0-1), Shane Byrne (0-1), Ronan Minogue (0-2 frees). Subs. - Noel Roche for L. Doyle, Liam Rossiter for Minogue, Graham Parker for Byrne.

Referee: Derek Murphy (St. Martin’s).