| 14.4°C Dublin

Furlong nets crucial goal as CBS edge past town rivals


The winning Wexford CBS squad.

The winning Wexford CBS squad.

The winning Wexford CBS squad.


Wexford CBS 1-5

Mercy School 0-4

A FIRST-HALF onslaught from Wexford CBS proved crucial as they eventually emerged with a four-point victory over a battling John’s Road side in this exciting Allianz Rackard League urban boys’ football final in The Rocks.

The strong downfield wind played a crucial role in this game, but the ability of the CBS attack to pick off their scores proved decisive in the end.

This is Wexford Newsletter

A weekly update on the top stories from County Wexford in news and sport, direct to your inbox

This field is required

John’s Road were quite wasteful through the second period as they allowed a number of scoring opportunities go amiss with wild finishing, particularly when early scores could have transformed the game.

Wexford CBS provided the steady hand through the opening half when wind assisted. They settled quickly into the game as points from Mikey Breen and Anthony Roche had them 0-2 to nil in front inside the opening five minutes.

And two minutes later they pounced for what would prove a crucial breakthrough.

Initially the John’s Road goal lived a somewhat charmed existence, as the CBS forwards saw a couple of goal attempts beaten away in a packed goalmouth.

The breakthrough eventually arrived in the eighth minute. Tyler Redmond played a ball across the face of the goal with corner-forward Tadgh Furlong getting his fist to it as it dropped to find the corner of the net.

And with Kalib Walshe following with a further point, they now led by 1-3 to nil.

The CBS attack looked particularly dangerous, with Tyler Redmond just missing out with a couple of point attempts, while impressive wing-forward Rúairí O’Connor saw a goal effort blocked in a packed goalmouth.

Kalib Walshe extended his side’s lead with a pointed free after O’Connor had been fouled close to goal.

John’s Road eventually broke their deadlock close to the break when Alex Jones kicked a point, but the CBS boys still led by 1-4 to 0-1 at the interval.

In a match that had been dominated by the CBS, the initiative swung the way of their rivals on the resumption.

Ryan Murphy saw a scoring attempt swing just wide in their opening attack, but two quick points from frees by Seán O’Brien, one of their more impressive players, reduced the deficit to 1-4 to 0-3 just seven minutes into the second-half.

When it looked as if the Mercy School side were to take the initiative, they came up against a stubborn CBS defence in which Darren Roche and Cillian Rossiter-McAuley were prominent.

Despite this second-half dominance they could only manage a further pointed Seán O’Brien free as the CBS defence held firm.

Wexford CBS gradually clawed their way back into the game with Ryan O’Connor-Byrne prominent in midfield, while wing-forwards Kalib Walshe and Rúairí O’Connor were now winning the hard ball which helped their side lift the siege against tough opponents.

Three minutes from the end Walshe pointed a free to ensure a hard-earned victory.

Wexford CBS: Ryan Murphy; Reuben Kehoe, Darren Roche, Aaron Butler; Ciarán Morris, Cillian Rossiter-McAuley (capt.), Anthony Roche (0-1); Mikey Breen (0-1), Shaun Howlin; Kalib Walshe (0-3, 2 frees), Tyler Redmond, Rúairí Redmond, Rúairí O’Connor; Joey Furlong, William Connors, Tadgh Furlong (1-0). Subs. - Justice Lynch, Tiernan Higginbotham, Noah Donegan, Rory Codd, Eric Zuaraskas, Devyn O’Sullivan, Freddie Tennant, Max Lawlor, Luke Walsh, Bobby Roche, Ollie Moore-Cousins, Craig McKay, Kylan Marchese. Coaches: Shane Wilde, Paul Murphy.

Mercy School: Alex Lonergan; Drew O’Gorman (joint-capt.), Dylan Redmond, Ross Cowman (joint-capt.); Chris Ramos, Seán Kavanagh, John Clancy; Seán O’Brien (0-3, 2 frees, 1 ’30), Ryan O’Connor-Byrne; Alex Jones, Mylo Perry, Ryan Murphy; Matthew Perry, Josh Doyle, Eoghan Murphy (0-1). Subs. - Adam McGuire, Aidan McDonald, Jaden McDonald, Shane Burke, Nathaniel Kehbuma, Colm Golden, Adam O’Donoghue, Eoin Clancy, German Plaza Garcia, Ali El Issa, Cian Redmond. Coaches: Seán O’Donoghue, Matthew Devereux.

Referee: Fintan O’Reilly (Kilmore).