| 15°C Dublin

Brilliant Bridgetown hit six as they land Under-14 Leinster schools crown


The title-winning squad from Bridgetown Vocational School.

The title-winning squad from Bridgetown Vocational School.

The title-winning squad from Bridgetown Vocational School.


Bridgetown Vocational College 6-8 Banagher College 1-5

A POWERFUL first-half showing paved the way for Bridgetown Vocational College’s Under-14 footballers to capture the Br. Hubert Cup with a commanding Leinster schools championship final success over Banagher College in the recent decider.

The south Wexford contingent raced out to a 2-5 to 0-1 interval advantage.

And while having to weather a Banagher storm on the restart, Bridgetown continued to pack sufficient influence to see out a quite distinguished victory.

This is Wexford Newsletter

A weekly update on the top stories from County Wexford in news and sport, direct to your inbox

This field is required

Defender Cillian Reville and attacking gem Ryan Furlong were left vying for ‘man of the match’ recognition among a combination overseen superbly by coaches Gearóid Cullen (Naomh Éanna), Daire Kelly (The Rower-Inistioge) and Wexford hurler Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St. Anne’s).

This decider produced a tight opening quarter, but Lee Naughton at midfield and the aforementioned Ryan Furlong quickly established themselves as thorns in Banagher’s side, as Cillian Reville and Gaven Raftery inspired at the back for a solid Bridgetown rearguard.

In fact, Banagher didn’t score until just before half-time, when they managed to peg back a point.

And Bridgetown eventually created some daylight during the closing ten minutes of the first-half, as Lee Naughton and Ryan Furlong each bagged goals to generate the 2-5 to 0-1 divide at the change of ends.

Banagher rallied on the resumption as they really gave Bridgetown something to worry about for a spell.

But, despite their sterling efforts, the midlanders never got any closer than eight points.

Indeed, Bridgetown’s goal-scoring prowess kept Banagher at arm’s length, as Ryan Furlong added a second personal major, while Daniel and Aaron Harrington together with Aodán O’Callaghan also raised green flags in this runaway victory.

Bridgetown VC: Conor Hancock (Kilmore); Ollie Kearns (St. Anne’s), Liam Martin (St. Anne’s), Cillian Reville (Bannow-Ballymitty); Ciarán Breen (St. Anne’s), Gaven Raftery (St. Anne’s), Owen Carroll (Kilmore); Lee Naughton (Kilmore, 1-3), Conor Harpur (St. Anne’s); Daniel Harrington (Kilmore, 1-1), Ryan Furlong (Kilmore, 2-2), Aodán O’Callaghan (Kilmore, 1-1); Evan Englebrecht (St. Mary’s, Rosslare), Aaron Harrington (Kilmore, 1-1), Cormac White (St. Fintan’s). Subs. - Ben Kelly (St. Anne’s), Sam Lowry (Kilmore), John Miskella (Kilmore), Joey Hogan (Kilmore), Ailbe Kitts (Kilmore), Bobby Jones (St. Anne’s), Ollie Sinnott (Kilmore), Josh Monaghan (Bannow-Ballymitty), Nathan Lawlor (Bannow-Ballymitty), Kyle Sheil (Kilmore).