| 18.2°C Dublin

Around the Districts: Graiguenamanagh to Horeswood


Shauna O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt and Leah Hearne from Priesthaggart and (back) Emily Cummins from Ballinamona and Niamh O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt at the Kellogg's Cul Camp at Horeswood GAA grounds.

Shauna O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt and Leah Hearne from Priesthaggart and (back) Emily Cummins from Ballinamona and Niamh O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt at the Kellogg's Cul Camp at Horeswood GAA grounds.

Shauna O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt and Leah Hearne from Priesthaggart and (back) Emily Cummins from Ballinamona and Niamh O'Brien O'Hanlon from Oldcourt at the Kellogg's Cul Camp at Horeswood GAA grounds.



Graig notes

Email news items, club events, announcements etc for the notes to graignotes@outlook.com. Deadline is Saturday 6 p.m.

Lotto Draw

This is Wexford Newsletter

A weekly update on the top stories from County Wexford in news and sport, direct to your inbox

This field is required

The numbers drawn in the Graig GAA and Highview Athletic lotto draw on July 18 were 1, 4, 16, 20, and there was no winner. Each of the following won €30 each: E & Alex, Breda Holden, Peter Murphy, Ann Hayden, Sharon Curren. Jackpot now stands at €20,000 and Reserve Jackpot at €13,050. Tickets are available from any committee member.

Graig Tidy Towns draw

Winners in the draw on July 21 were: 1st ​Prize, Rose Murphy, €331; 2nd Prize, J &S Cabs C/O M Ryan’s, €50; 3rd Prize, Punter-Thomas Whitehead, €25. Draw takes place at 4 p.m. on Thursdays at the Parish Office.

Cemetery Mass

The Annual Cemetery Mass in Honour of St Fiacre was Celebrated by Rev Mark Townsend PP Graiguenamanagh at St Fiacre’s Church Ruins and Cemetery at Ullard, Graiguenamanagh on Friday July 22. It was a beautiful warm evening with a large attendance, including the Graiguenamangh Choir.

Town Of Books Festival

The Graig Town Of Books festival will take place from August 19 to August 21. After two years of lockdown due to the Covid there is a huge interest this year’s event.


Golf Classic

Gusserane GAA club were blessed with a beautiful day last Friday for the club’s annual Golf Classic. With over forty teams taking part the event was not only a huge financial success but a great social occasion also.

The winners with 102 points were Patsy Farrell, PJ O’Farrell, Johnny Farrell and John Roche. Second went to Lorcan Barden, Paul Barden, Carole Murphy and Paddy O’Shea. In third place were Shane Doyle, Mark Rossiter, Jack Burford and Ryan Bland while fourth went to Richie Burns, Joe Delaney, Trevor Lucey and Rory Whelan. The winners of the non GUI were Aidan Murphy, Brian Murphy, Brian Doyle and Ronan Kavanagh. Second went to Eric Molloy, John O’Mahony, Liam Foley and Ger Freyne while third went to Eamon Whelan, Gary Lynch, John Cleary and Tom McRory. The “nearest the pin” winners were Bobby Gahan, Fintan O’Sullivan, Haig Conroy, John Grace and Noah Stapleton. The longest drive on the eighteenth was won by Bobby Gahan (men’s) and Bridget Murphy (ladies’).

The organisers would like to thank all those who took part and a special word of thanks to the generous sponsors.

All Ireland

Massive congratulations to local girls Aisling Murphy and Aoife Cullen on making it back to Croke Park for the second year running and the very best of luck to them as they take on Laois on Sunday next.


The Gusserane hurlers of twenty five years ago gathered in Power’s Bar last Friday night to relive their exploits of 1997.

In that year the intermediate footballers won their way back to senior ranks after a replay against Rathgarogue Cushinstown on a scoreline of 1-14 to 1-08. The Gusserane team on the day was: Paul Whelan, Hugh O’Connor, Donie Whelan, Francis Wallace, Francis O’Brien, PJ Rossiter, Michael Roche, Michael Walsh, John Roche, Trevor Duffin, Aidan O’Brien, Paul Colfer, MJ Culleton, Mick Caulfield and Philip Wallace. The subs that were used were Adrian Culleton, Seamie Ryan and Eamon Whelan.

The double was completed when the junior hurlers earned the right to play in intermediate for the first time ever when they defeated St Martins by 3-9 to 2-6. The hurling team was: John Joe Murphy, Eddie Byrne, Francis Wallace, PJ Rossiter, Paul Colfer, Mick Walsh, Mick Caulfield, Eamon Murphy, Pat Walsh, Keith O’Grady, MJ Culleton, Hugh O’Connor, Seamie Ryan, Philip Wallace and Edward Whelan. The subs that were used were Paul Whelan, John Kinsella and Alan Coyle. Both the football and hurling finals were shown on the night.

Tintern Lotto

There was no jackpot winner last week when the numbers drawn were 4, 16, 21 and 24. The match three winners were Thomas Murphy and James O’Brien from Ballycullane. This week’s jackpot stands at €6950.

GAA action

Best of luck to our intermediate hurlers as they take on Oulart thte Ballagh in the county quarter final this weekend. Our hurlers have suffered a significant number of serious injuries over the past weeks and face an uphill battle against the former kingpins of Wexford hurling but will not be found wanting as they look to progress to the last four.


Cards have made a very welcome return to the hall in Ballycullane on Wednesday evenings. It had been over two years since a hand was dealt in Progressive 45 in the local halls. While numbers were small to start back, as expected, the organisers look forward to more tables attending in the coming weeks as word gets out. New players are always welcome.


GAA News

The Intermediate A hurlers played Oulart in Round 5 in Taghmon last Friday. Following a promising first half, where we led by 3 points, we only managed 3 points after the break and lost 2-12 to 2-15. We finished the group in 3rd place and will play Shelmaliers in the quarter final this weekend.

Coiste na nOg - Results; Under 17 Hurlers beat Kilmore 3-19 to 0-5. Under 13 Football Div. 3 got a walkover from Oulart, Div. 5 lost to Tgahmon 4-12 to 0-1, under 15 Footballers beat Buffers Alley 4-13 to 4-3. Fixtures. Thurs. 28th Under 13 Football Div. 5 at home to Moguegeen Gaels at 7.30 , Under 15 Football away to Ballyhogue at 7.30. Mon. aug. 1st Under 17 Football at home to Ballyhogue at 7.30. Tues 2nd Under 13 Football Div. 3 v Starlights and Div. 5 v Shamrocks–both at home at 7.30.

Ballykelly Whist

A whist Drive takes place in Ballykelly Hall every Wednesday at 8pm.


The annual patron in Dunbrody and Kilmokea is on Wed. 27th and in Horeswood onThurs 28th. Mass will be celebrated in Horeswood church at 7.30, followed by blessing of graves.

Mass Time Changes

Horeswood Parish is now part of the New Ross Pastoral Area, which consists of Horeswood, New Ross and Cushinstown parishes. Due to the declining number of priests the following mass changes will take place , beginning weekend Sept. 4th. Horeswood–Vigil mass on Sat. at 6.30pm. Sunday Mass in Horeswood at 10 am, followed by Ballykelly at 11.30.