Wednesday 22 November 2017

City crowned the champions

THE curtain came down on the season with the final of the Glasshouse Champions Cup at MacSharry Park last Saturday night.

Division One champions, Ballygawley Celtic, took on the might of Super Legue runners-up City United.

It was a task too far for Celtic as City emerged as Champions.

Keith Nibbs opened the scoring in the 16th minute from a Gary Rooney free-kick.

The impressive Ross McLoughlin made it two-nil five minutes from half-tme.

City were already in control.

It took Nibbs just two minutes into the second-half to hit his second and the scoring continued five minutes later with Neil McKenna firing home the fourth.

Ballygawley battled hard with David O'Reilly and James Mackey leading by example.

This brought a reward on 62 minutes when Colin Tiernan volleyed home past Martin Ward.

Nine minutes from time, John Conlon put the icing on the cake with the fifth.

Ballygawley Celtic: Niall Curneen Colin Harte Alan Taffe Jimmy O Reilly Colm Tiernan James Mackey Kyle Carty J P Henry Dwayne Kelly David O Reilly Killian Harte Dermot Hanley Joe Kilcullen Ralph Nazurak Mark Boyd Niall Henry

City United: Martin Ward Gary Mc Cartney Aaron Murrin Gary Rooney Killian Sweeney Ross Mc Laughlin Neil Mc Kenna Keith Carty Keith Nibbs (Capt) Gareth Kelly Eric Mc Morrow Christopher Kelly John Conlon Clive Sommers Shane Keane.

Referee Thomas Egan Linesmen Ritchie Barry Alan Blanc.

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links