Thursday 18 January 2018

Swimmers make waves

THE Sligo invitational gala hosted by the local Swimming Club at the Regional Sports Centre, was an outstanding success.

The Sligo invitational gala hosted by the local Swimming Club at the Regional Sports Centre, was an outstanding success.

Seventeen local swimmers recorded times for the first time, while competing among the one hundred and seventy competitors in Backstroke, Breaststroke, Butterfly and Front Crawl events.

In addition to the debutants, many of the more experienced swimmers used the gala as an opportunity to improve their times, leading to eleven new 'A' Times being recorded over the day.

Making their competitive debuts were Emma Corcoran, Siofra McCarthy, Alannah Cunningham, Roisin Eglington, Kristin O' Doherty McNulty, Alli Galvan, Nessa O'Sullivan, Aoife Platt, Aodhán Shovelin, Ferdia Fitzgerald, John Mackay, Ruaidhri Sweeney, Aidan Cunningham, Seán Woods, Max Hunter, Diarmuid Giblin and Patrick O'Doherty McNulty (the latter recording the fastest Sligo time in the 11 and under 100m Backstroke where he swam an A time of 1.35.38).

Competition opened with the 100m Backstroke and this provided 'A' times for Danielle Farrell, Rowan Elliott, Ciara Lynch and Dylan Martin as well as that recorded by Patrick. In addition to the 'A' times there were numerous personal bests recorded by the local swimmers. Among them was a twelve second PB for Leah Kelly who also swam ten second personal best times in both the 50m Fly and 100m Front Crawl.

The second event was the 100m Breaststroke.

The outstanding performance in this came from Leonardo Donadoni who improved on his previous best by over eighteen seconds.

There were notable improvements too from Gus Bamber, Jacob Kilcoyne, Zoe Melvin Leah Kelly and Lauren Gordon.

The Butterfly was the third stroke. As always, this was divided into two separate events, the eleven years and under swimming 50m while the older competitors swam 100m.

Max Hunter, Ambrose Bamber, Jacob Kilcoyne, Ella Monaghan, Ella McDaid, Cliodhna O'Sullivan and Leah Kelly all broke the one minute mark for the first time over two lengths. In the 100m event there were 'A' times for Liadan Hanley, Anna McPartlan and Owen Eglington. Owen swam a PB of 1.29.55 to cut a massive 16.93 seconds off his previous best, Anna improved over four seconds to swim 1.34.11 while Liadan swam an exceptional race to cut ten seconds off in a time of 1.32.20.

The gala concluded with the 100m Front Crawl.

A total of fifty Sligo club swimmers competed in this, twenty of these doing so for the first time.

In addition to those taking on the distance for the first time there were nineteen personal best times achieved, including a thirty five second improvement for Aaron Platt and a twenty second PB for Adam Hunter. Sarah Melvin achieved an 'A' time, while Ciara Lynch and Rowan Elliott recorded their second 'A' times of the day.

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links