Tuesday 16 October 2018

Mona named Athlete of the Year

World Champion Mona McSharry has been named Swimmer of the Year
World Champion Mona McSharry has been named Swimmer of the Year

World Gold medalists Mona McSharry and Shane Ryan were named Performance Athletes of the Year at the Swim Ireland Annual Awards in Ballina at the weekend. Both Mona from Grange and Shane claimed gold on the world stage this past summer, making the two deserving winners of the accolade.

Mona won Ireland's first ever gold medal at the World Junior Swimming Championships in Indianapolis in August, The 17-year-old Ballyshannon Marlins swimmer also collected bronze at the event as well as two gold and a silver at the European Junior Championships in July.

Shane won Ireland's first gold medal in 26 years at the World University Games in August when he topped the podium in the 50m Backstroke Final in Irish record time. The 23-year-old also made the semi-final in the 100m Backstroke at the World Championships in Budapest in July.

Also honoured for his performances this Summer Conor Ferguson picked up the Performance Pathway Swimmer of the Year Award. Ferguson won European and World Junior silvers during the Summer. 14-year-old Anna Power of Shamrock Diving Club was named Performance Pathway Diver of the Year and rising star Nicole Turner of NAC Swimming Club won the Para Swimmer of the Year Award. Mona's coach at Marlins Swimming Club, Grace Meade collected the Performance Coach of the Year Award while Martin McGann, coach of double silver medallist at the Commonwealth Youth Games Rachel Bethel, was awarded the Performance Pathway Coach of the Year Award. A total of 18 Awards which celebrate and honour the fantastic work and outstanding accomplishments of Swim Ireland's athletes, coaches and volunteers were handed out on the night. International athletes were also honoured, they represented Ireland at European and World Swimming and Diving events. The final part of the evening saw an induction into the Swim Ireland Hall of Fame. The 2017 inductees were Mr Eddie Campion and Mr Davy Page (RIP).Swim Ireland's Chief Executive Officer Sarah Keane said it was fantastic to recognise the achievements and hard work from athletes, coaches and volunteers.

Sligo Champion