Tuesday 18 June 2019

Good results at Benbulben 5k

The Benbulben 5K took place on Sunday in favourable running conditions and a decent crowd of 121 participants made the start line.

J.P. Carty led from the start at the Oxfield Centre and the Sligo AC Senior ended 2018 on a high by claiming victory in 15:07. 

A trio of runners made a hot pursuit of J.P. with North Sligo's Feidhlim McGowan taking 2nd in 15:45 followed by Sligo AC Masters Shane Hayes 15:51 and Seamus Somers 15:53. There was a good contingent in Carney from Sligo AC. 

Kevin McGlone in 6th ran 17:19 with trackster James Callaghan 2 places behind in 17:58 . Well done to Juniors Joe Campbell 21:17, Finn Campbell  22:23 and Matthew Percy 22:28. In 39th was Brendan McCarrick 22:50 with Ross Campbell 22:52.

Good moving also by Walker Ryan Roberts 29:35, Rian Keating 29:58 and Peter Keating 30:00. Congratulations to Sligo AC's Eavan McLoughlin.

Eavan, who won the Grange 10K in October, was the first Lady home in 18:34 while Frankfurt marathoner Karen Mulrooney was 3rd Lady in 19:54. Good running also by Cindy McCarthy 21:25, Ruth Campbell 22:50 and the excellent walker Orlaith Delahunt 26:29.

Sligo Champion