Friday 19 January 2018

Connacht schools' track and field championships

SLIGO athletes turned many impressive performances at the AVIVA Connacht Schools track and field championships finals that were run at the Athlone IT track on Thursday.

Zak Irwin, Sligo Grammar School, narrowly won the senior boy's 100 metres in a time of 10.83 seconds from Kieran Elliott, Ballinode College and Conor Duggan, Presentation College Athenry.

Zak was also in the senior boys 200metres.

Stacy Kerr Ursuline College and Shane Mooney Summerhill College were double event winners. Victory went to Stacy in the senior girls 100 metres and 200 metres while Shane Mooney claimed the junior boy's 80 metre hurdles and high jump titles.

Individual event winners at the Connacht finals included Philip Hamilton Summerhill – intermediate boy's 100metre hurdles; Sarah McGeough Sligo Grammar – senior girl's 400metre hurdles; Davoig Smith Sligo Grammar – senior boy's hammer; Kevin Connell Summerhill – junior boy's shot; Jack Cawley Summerhill – minor boy's 800metres; Emma McGrievy Sligo Grammar – senior girl's javelin; Amy McSharry Sligo Grammar – junior girl's javelin; Kathy Devaney Ursuline – intermediate girls 800metres.

All athletes in Athlone who have placed in the top two finishers in all track events up to 800metres as well as field events and in the top three finishers in track events from 800metres up will compete at the AVIVA All-Ireland schools track and field championships in Tullamore on Saturday, May 31.

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links