Wednesday 23 January 2019

Cliffords win Winter League final

The 50th Winter League sponsored by Wehrly Brothers was a tremendous success this year with 136 members participating and up on 100 members attended the presentation dinner.

 Co Sligo Golf Club thanked Tony Wehrly who has been a great sponsor and partner for this special event in the club. The winners of the Ken Cunningham Trophies for 2018 were the outstanding partnership of John Clifford and his son, the ever improving Sean, by a clear margin of 4 holes. They had an unbelievable score of 11 up with a front 9 of 4up and back 9 of 7 up.

They lost the 1st hole so they played sparkling golf as they scored 12 up for 17 holes. The card shows they were both rock solid in that they each contributed 6 wins on each of the 12 holes won. This was Sean's first Winter League and he inspired his Dad as they were also Section Winners and displayed great golf throughout the entire Winter League. The Cliffords were most popular winners and John in his victory speech thanked the Club, sponsors and his fellow competitors for a fantastic experience.

The runners-up with 7 up were Dean Mahon/John Dolan and Mick Barrett/ Kieran O'Brien. John Armstrong won a special prize of an alarm clock. The Non Qualifiers Section was won by Hugh O'Neill and Larry Kelly with a great score of 6 up. 2018 has been good so far for Larry. They beat on the back 9 the Kevin Flanagan/Ian Hodgson and Dermott Mc Dermott/Tony Wehrly combinations. In 5th place was a juvenile boy's combination of Danny Cronin/Aodhagan Brady partnership who will hopefully look back in 50 years and say I played in the Winter League 50 years ago and won a prize. The club thanked all the competitors, the Committee and the starters and especially generous Sponsor Wehrly Brothers.

Sligo Champion