Monday 11 December 2017

Annual meeting looks forward to successful 2013

THE ANNUAL General Meeting of the Sligo Handball Board took place in the St. Mary's G.A.A Club meetings rooms in Kent Park

Outgoing Secretary Michael McGee recalled a successful and busy year in Sligo Handball.

GAA County Board Chairman Cyril Feehily said handball was a very important member of the G.A.A. family. The second phase of the Centre of Excellence will be starting and the Chairman said that they should look for 1 wall court to be put in place in the new centre. He congratulated all the Connacht handball winners and wished the new Committee well in the coming year.

The Secretary praised the Juvenile coaches in clubs, Martin Golden, Francis McCann, John Cawley, Oisin Quinn, Tom Foody, Shane Bruen, Stanley Harte, Paddy Walsh, Mick Kelly whom he described as the unsung heroes in Sligo Handball for their dedication throughout the year coaching their young members in Clubs. The Juvenile sections continue to make progress with Aoife Quinn Castleconnor getting to 2 All-Ireland Girls U-15 singles final in the year. Jason Earlis also from the Castleconnor club won a Connacht title and is making steady progress. A new club was started in Tubbercurry with John Cawley a teacher in the Holy Family N.S. to the fore.

The turning of the sod in the Collooney club was one of the highlights of the year in which TG4 also attended. Eight members from Sligo took part in the World Handball championships with Oisin Quinn reaching the semi finals of the Golden Masters Doubles one-wall event. Oisin's son Odhran played in 2 quarter finals and Ballymote's Francis McCann also played in the quarter finals of the Golden Masters 1 wall category.

Prior to playing in the world handball championships the team was kitted out with new jerseys sponsored by the Radisson Hotel in Sligo.

Peter Chambers read out the Treasurers report showing a healthy balance sheet at the end of the year. The All-Ireland tickets draw brought in over €2000 in funding.

Officers elected were: Chairman: Shane Bruen (Collooney), Fixtures Secretary: Mark Murphy (Castleconnor), Secretary: Connell Cannon (St. Mary's), Treasurer: Oisin Quinn (Castleconnor), P.R.O. Michael McGee (Collooney), Juvenile Officer: Francis McCann (Ballymote) Handball Delegate to G.A.A Board meetings: Peter Chambers (St. Mary's) Connacht Handball Council Representative: Aoife McDonagh Sligo I.T., Connacht Convention: Shane Bruen & Peter Chambers Delegates to National Congress: Shane Bruen, Hugh McGarry & Connell Cannon.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links