Friday 19 April 2019

Win puts Shamrock Gaels through to U21 A football decider

U21 A Football Championship semi-final at Scarden: Shamrock Gaels 4-16 Coolera/Strandhill 2-5

Shamrock Gaels advanced to the final of the U21 A Championship with a comfortable win over Coolera/Strandhill last Saturday in Scarden.

With the other semi-final having gone to extra time in an exciting finish, this was a disappointing game with the result never in doubt after fifteen minutes.

While the Gaels opened the scoring through Seamus Hailstones, Coolera/Strandhill did start brightly with Kevin Banks cutting through the Gaels' defence scoring an impressive point after three minutes.

This however was to be the only bright spark in an otherwise dismal first half performance from Coolera/Strandhill.

The Gaels took complete control bringing much more urgency and intensity to the game and this combined with clinical finishing from an impressive forward line meant that they led by seventeen points at half time on a scoreline of 3-11 to 0-3.

The lively Shane Deignan got the first goal mid- way through the half with Sean Carroll netting after an impressive move on twenty four minutes.

Deignan got his second goal four minutes later bringing his first half personal tally to 2-3.

Coolera/Strandhill did give a better account in the second half with goals from Shay Doherty and Ciaran Flynn but the Gaels were always on top and with another goal from Mark Kearns, they ran out easy winners in the end.

They now face St Mary's in the final next Saturday in Tourlestrane at 7.30PM in what will be a tougher test.

SHAMROCK GAELS: Daniel Lyons, Ben Tuohy, Evan Lyons, Alan Kelly, Patrick Benson, Karl McKenna, Enda O'Connell, James Carroll (0-1), Dillon McDermott, Daire Kearns (0-1), Shane Deignan (2-3), Sean Carroll (1-2), Darragh Hailstones (0-5), Dylan Willis, Seamus Hailstones (0-2). Subs: Niall Whelan for B Tuohy, Luke Flynn for P Benson, Mark Kearns (1-1) for D McDermott, Steven Willis (0-1) for J Carroll, Michael Barry for A Kelly, Brendan Hailstones for D Kearns.

COOLERA/STRANDHILL: Oisín Conway, Tristan Gilligan, Lee Wilson, Kevin Harte, Aaron O'Boyle, Sean Murphy, David Kilrehill, Kevin Banks (0-1), Shay Doherty (1-0), Keelan Harte (0-3), Shane McCallion, Eoin Macken, Kieran Prior (0-1), Mark Connell, Adam Kerrigan. Subs: Fionn Morrissey for M Connell, Fiachra Staunton for A O'Boyle, Adam Higgins for A Kerrigan, Ciaran Flynn (1-0) for K Harte.

Referee: Michael Duffy

Sligo Champion