Wednesday 17 January 2018

Tipp goal blitz ends promotion hopes for Leitrim

LEITRIM suffered a heavy defeat when Tipperary proved much too good for the Connacht men in Sunday's one sided encounter in Carrick-on-Shannon.

With the loss to Tipperary, Leitrim's slim hopes of promotion to Division 3 more or less evaporated.

Tipperary easily gained promotion to Division 3 in their season's penultimate game.

Brian Fox shot to the Leitrim net after fifteen seconds as the Tipp men signalled that they meant business from the start. Conor Sweeney whipped over two visitor's points before Emlyn Mulligan opened Leitrim's account with a 9th minute free conversion.

Tipperary grabbed a six point's lead over the next eleven minutes with Conor Sweeney adding a goal and point for them while George Hannigan and Philip Austin chipped in with a point apiece.

Leitrim replied with 0 – 4 in this spell with Darren Sweeney, Emlyn Mulligan, Gary Reynolds and Aaron Hickey all scoring. The Tipp men maintained their two goals advantage in the next phase of the game up to the 25th minute when Leitrim's Kevin Conlan hit over two points that was answered by a point each from the visitors Ger Mulhair and Brian Fox.

Over the next five minutes Leitrim halved Tipperary's lead thanks to Wayne McKeon who shot over twice with James Glancy adding a point also. But Tipp really struck Leitrim with a sucker punch after that when Philip Austin pointed and then struck for his side's third goal.

At the break Tipperary enjoyed a 3 – 8 to 0 – 10 advantage. Darren Sweeney opened the scoring in the second half with a 41st minute Leitrim point but the Tipp men continued to inflict further punishment on their hosts when replying with an unanswered 1 – 3 in the following seven minutes.

In this period Ian Fahey shot a Tipperary goal while Michael Quinlivan, Brian Fox and Philip Austin added a point each. Leitrim managed to close the gap to 0 – 9 by 56th minute after sub Sean McWeeney, James Glancy and Emlyn Mulligan scored. Showing no mercy on Leitrim over the following five minutes Conor Sweeney struck for Tipperary's fifth goal and added a point.

Tipperary: Paul Fitzgerald; Ger Mulhair 0 – 1, Paddy Codd, John Coghlan; Robbie Kiely 0 – 1, Peter Acheson, Donagh Leahy; Steven O' Brien. George Hannigan 0 – 1; Philip Austin 1 – 3, Andrew Morrissey, Ian Fahey 1 – 0; Brian Fox 1 – 3, Michael Quinlivan 0 – 1(f), Conor Sweeney 2 – 6 (4f). Subs: Alan Maloney for Mulhair (37 mins.); Conal McCullagh for O'Brien (59 mins.); Alan Campbell for Leahy (62 mins.), Lorcan Egan for Austin (64 mins.), Donal Lynch for Fox (67 mins.).

Leitrim: Enda Lyons; Barry Prior, Donal Wrynn, Paddy Maguire; Paul Brennan, Gary Reynolds 0 – 1; Wayne McKeon 0 – 2; Darren Sweeney 0 – 2, Damien Moran; Kevin Conlan 0 – 3(f); Gerry Hickey, Aaron Hickey 0 – 1 , Emlyn Mulligan 0 – 4 (4fs), James Glancy 0 – 2, Robbie Lowe. Subs: Ray Cox for Moran (18 mins.); S. McWeeney 0 – 1 for G. Hickey (42 mins.), R. Gallagher for A. Hickey (55 mins.). Referee: David Brazil (Offaly).

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links