Friday 19 January 2018

Taaffe on form as Michael's claim Division Three League

St. Michael's captured the Senior League Division Three title with an impressive win over Cloonacool at Markievicz Park.

It completed a great double for the Saints who won the Abbot Cup earlier in the season.

Alan Taaffe was the star man for the winners, contributing six points in an outstanding personal performance.

Cloonacool were well in the game in the firsthalf and trailed by just three points at the interval, 0-6 to 0-3

The turning point came early in the second half when Taaffe was tripped and Ross McLoughlin stepped up to crash the resultant penalty to the back of the net.

ST. MICHAEL'S: E McLoughlin, G Walsh, R Taaffe, S Clancy, P Flanagan, G McGowan, H McGowan, P McTiernan, C McTiernan (0-1), R McLoughlin (1-0), N Clerkin, J Mackey, K Carty (0-5), A Taaffe (0-6), K Harte. Subs: D Kelly (0-1), S Calncy

CLOONACOOL: J Armstrong, J McIntyre, N Walsh, N McCarrick, K Gallagher, J Neary, P Murtagh, J Lawrence, F Leonard, P McIntryre (0-1), C Henry, J Brennan, B Henry (0-1), B Carty, H Marren (1-4)

REFEREE: P Kilcoyne

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links