Sunday 17 December 2017

Students earn well deserved share of the spoils in Kiltoom

IT Sligo began the New Year on an impressive note, earning a well deserved draw against Roscommon at Kiltoom on Sunday.

Michael Moyles' men were clearly very well prepared and were especially impressive in attack.

The teams couldn't be separated at half time, and the tit-for-tat nature of the contest continued after the break as the sides were level on six occasions

It looked as if the Students might claim a victory when Mark McHugh edged them in front late on but Cathal Cregg replied for Roscommon in a dramatic finish to leave it all square at the interval.

Refereee, Liam Devaney adopted a sensible approach to the new rules, dishing out just one black card to IT forward, Stephen Coen.

Roscommon raced into a 1-6 to 0-3 after 20 minutes. Donal Shine's influence on the game was pronounced and he contributed three points, including two from play. Kevin Higgins, Donal Keane and Conor Devaney (from a free) also found the target.

The goal arrived in the 18th minute. Cathal Cregg gathered Conor Daly's probing ball out on the left wing. His precise hand pass played in Craig Burns. The Tulsk player showed good awareness to offload possession to Devaney who finished neatly.

Regan claimed a goal for the IT after poor Roscommon defending but an excellent point from Fordle left the sides level at 1-6 apiece at the break.

The sides traded scores for the majority of the second period, and it took Cregg's equalising point deep into injury time to deny the Students a win.

ROSCOMMON: T. Lowe; R. Stack, N. Daly, N. Collins (0-1); S. McDermott, N. Daly, C. Daly; K. Higgins (0-2), D. Shine (0-4, one free, one '45); D. Keane (0-1), C. Burns, P. Kelly; C. Murtagh (0-2), C. Devaney (1-1, one free), C. Cregg (0-2).

Subs used: M. Nally (0-1) for Kelly (half-time), D. Murtagh for Devaney (47 mins), J. Sharkey for Stack (48 mins), S. Kilbride for Burns (51 mins).

IT SLIGO: A. McCallig; R. Donovan, B. McQuaid, E. Flanagan; K. Cawley, M. McHugh (0-2), S. Fee; M. Forde (0-1), D. Geraghty; M. McWeeney, R. McHugh (0-4), C. Mulryan (0-1); S. Coen (0-2), E. Regan (1-3, three frees), J. Shaughnessy (0-1). Subs used: S. O'Grady for Geraghty (15 mins), C. Kearins for McWeeney (50 mins), D. Quinn for Forde (55 mins), P. Laffey for McQuaid (60 mins), C. Clinton for Coen (black card, 60 mins).

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links