Friday 22 March 2019

Sligo ladies through to the Quarter Finals

Sligo 2-13 Laois 1-13

Sligo ladies are through to the All-Ireland Quarter Finals of the TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football Intermediate Championship after defeating Laois in Kinnegad on Sunday.

This was a great team performance for Paddy Henry's side with the goals coming from Laura Ann Laffey and Elaine O'Reilly.

Sligo now take on Wicklow this weekend venue and time to be confirmed.

Sligo were ahead by 3 points at the break, 1-6 to Laois's 0-6 after Laura-Ann Laffey found the back of the net from 20m out in the 23rd minute.

It was Laois who got off to the better start, scoring 2 points from play in quick succession before Denise McGrath got Sligo's first point with Katie Walsh adding another from a free to draw the sides level on 8 minutes.

Laois's Meghan Dunne traded points with Lauren Boles before Clare Conlon added 2 more points for Laois to put them in front on 18 minutes.

Sligo then scored an unanswered 1-3 on the bounce, the points coming from Elaine O'Reilly, Boles with her second and another for McGrath from play on 22 minutes before Laffey's goal came a minute later.

Conlon again was on target for Laois before the break as 3 points separated them at the interval, Sligo ahead by 1-6 to 0-6.

Both sides would go on to score 1-7 each in the second half with O'Reilly finding the net early into the second period as Sligo were ahead by 6.

Walsh added 2 more through a free and from play with Nicola Brennan putting Paddy Henry's side further in front.

Laois responded with 2 points from play from Emma Lalor which was cancelled out with 2 points from Sligo's Boles and McGrath. Laois's Erone Fitzpatrick and O'Reilly traded scores before Laffey added another for the Yeats women.

Laois then went on a scoring spell with 2 points from play from Fitzpatrick followed by a goal from Ciara Burke on 55 minutes as Fitzpatrick added another point for Laois.

Sligo had done enough to see them through to the All-Ireland Quarter Finals when they meet Wicklow this weekend in the next stage.

Sligo Champion