Wednesday 22 May 2019

Shamrock Gaels U20s through to semi-finals after weekend win

U20 A Championship: Tourlestrane 1-8 Shamrock Gaels 4-10

Shamrock Gaels ensured a home draw for the U20 Championship semi-final with a comfortable win over Tourlestrane last Sunday.

The game was over as a contest after fifteen minutes with the Gaels racing into a nine point lead with a goal from Darragh Hailstones and two from Shane Deignan despite playing into a strong breeze.

Darragh Hailstones opened the scoring with a point from a free in the opening minutes and his speculative shot into the square sailed into the net after ten minutes.

Shane Deignan pounced to get his first goal on fifteen minutes when the ball came back off the crossbar after a Dylan Willis shot from distance.

Deignan was in for his second goal thirty seconds later when he intercepted Adam Broe's kickout. The game was now effectively over as a contest and the Gaels added another goal from Dylan Willis to lead by 4-4 to no score at half time.

In a pedestrian second half the Gaels went on to see the game out with an eleven point win and now take on Easkey/Enniscrone next Friday in the semi-final.

Shamrock Gaels: Ryan Brennan, Patrick Benson, Evan Lyons, Alan Kelly, Daire Kearns (0-2), Karl McKenna (0-1), Andrew Flynn, Dillon McDermott, James Carroll, Michael Barry, Darragh Hailstones (1-4), Dylan Willis (1-0), Brendan Hailstones, Sean Carroll, Shane Deignan (2-1). Subs: Luke Flynn for B Hailstones, Lee Deignan (0-1) for D Willis, Conor Kearns (0-1) for M Barry, Ryan Fitzpatrick for A Flynn, Steven Willis for L Flynn (inj).

Tourlestrane: Rian Bailey, Ronan Walsh (0-2), Cathal Fleming, Ben Tracey, Sean McViegh, Kevin O'Hara, Joseph Molloy, Cian Surlis, Conan Marren, Jon Durkin, Rian Bailey (1-0), Jack Walsh (0-1), Eoin Walsh, Liam Gaughan (0-3), Mark Lundy (0-2). Subs: Daniel Cunney for Jon Durkin, Phelim O'Donnell for Conan Marren.

Referee: Ciaran McGovern.

Sligo Champion