Sunday 27 May 2018

Second half goal blitz by St John's

A second half goal blitz by St. John's was enough to secure the Junior A Championship title against town rivals,St. Mary's at Markievicz Park on Saturday

Fiachra Grennan hit two well-taken goals while Brian Harris also got in on the goal scoring act to ensure an impressive victory for the Carraroe-based outfit.

St. Mary's battled hard and kept in touch throughout with the excellent Garrett Blake having an outstanding display.scoring 1-7 of his side's total

In the opening half it was St. John's who started the brighter of the two sides as they opened an early two point lead, courtesy of scores from Colin Harte and Fiacra Grennan

Mary's replied with three unanswered points to take the lead through Ruari Connolly who has in the past played for the Mayo U/21s and Blake, a former Donegal minor. St.John's were starting to dominate around the midfield sector and they got theor just rewards with three points to retake the lead

It was an excellent Kieran Blake score on 18 minutes which edged them in front.

Two further points put St. John's in a commandign position but Mary's finished the half strongly and cut the deficit to just two points at the break (0-8 to 0-6), thanks to scores from David Rowland and Gerarde O'Kelly Lynch

The scene was set for a tight second half and John's got the break they needed when Grennan fired into the net within two minutes of the restart.

Garrett Blake hit back with a goal for Mary's and the same player converted a free to leave the minimum between the sides. Grennan struck for his second goal of the game and this was followed by a point from Kieran Blake.

Mary's kept in touch with two points in a row but any hopes of them snatching the title were wiped out when Harris grabbed a third goal for St. John's near the end.

St.John's: Noel O'Donnell , Declan Kelly , Jim Sheridan , Brendan Tierney ,Daniel Smith , Terry Farrelly, Robbie Galvin , Kieran Blake(0-3,2fs), Brian Mc Caffrey(0-1), Fiacra Grennan(2-1) , Mark Rooney , Colin Harte(0-3) , Fergal Kelly , Brian Harris(1-1), Aaron Clerkin Subs: Ciaran Walsh ,Brian Keeney, Steve Feeney

St.Mary's: Alan Sheerin , Conor Mahon , Mark Herrity, David Hanley, Brian O'Donnell , Gerard O'Kelly Lynch(0-1), Liam Henry , Michael Bree , David Rowland(0-1), Stephen Henry, Ruairi Connolly(0-1), Declan Cawley, Stephen Hargadon , Caolan O'Grady, Garrett Blake(1-7,6fs) Subs: Ciaran Keaveney , Keelan Gallagher, Luke Nicholson Referee: Padraig Golden

Sligo Champion