Sunday 26 May 2019

Hurling triumphs continue as U17s win the Celtic Challenge

Sligo 3-12 Donegal 2-8

Frances Hanley in Tullamore

What a week it has been for Sligo hurling, first a Lory Meagher Cup win and now Sligo U17 hurlers have captured the Michael Feery Cup in the Celtic Challenge. Sligo's U17's had a great win over Donegal in the Division 5 final on Saturday last in Tullamore on a score of Sligo 3-12, Donegal 2-8.

This game was played in blistering heat with a slight breeze which favoured Donegal in the opening half.

Sligo got a dream start when Fionn Connolly got a goal in the first minute of the game. Two points were added by Fionn Moylan and Thomas Cawley before Donegal got their opening point from a free by Matthew Doherty.

Donegal dominated the scoring for the next quarter and led 1-5 to 1-2.

It was Sligo however who finished stronger in the last five minutes of the half with both O'Kelly Lynch brothers scoring a goal each to leave the half time score Sligo 3-4, Donegal 1-5.

After the break Donegal's Matthew Doherty got the opening score followed by a free from Sligo's Thomas Cawley. Donegal's Matthew Doherty got a goal for Donegal in the fifth minute to leave only two points separating the sides.

Sligo outscored Donegal by seven points to one in the final fifteen minutes to get a very deserving win much to the delight of the Sligo supporters.

Fionn Moylan was presented with the Best and Fairest Award for Sligo.

Fionn Connolly was outstanding for Sligo throughout and Darragh Cawley, Michael Munnelly and Eoghan Rua Mc Gowan played well along with all the scorers.

Donegal's Lochlann O'Dea received the Best and Fairest Award for his side.

James Hartnett, Matthew Doherty, Keenan Barrett and Odhran Mc Gonnigle did well.

The Michael Feery Cup was presented to captain Niall Kilcullen.

Great credit for this win must go to Benny Kenny who with manager Oisín Coyne assisted by Eoin and Luke Comerford worked very hard to bring this team to the final and to this victory.

This win was a fitting tribute to Benny's work in Sligo for the past six years and for his efforts to promote hurling in the county.

Sligo team: Patrick O'Connor (Ben Bulben Gaels), Fergal Curran (Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Eoghan Rua Mc Gowan (Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Paul Gallagher (Naomh Eoin), Michael Munnelly (Naomh Eoin), Niall Kilcullen (Capt. Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Darragh Cawley (Naomh Eoin), Liam OKelly Lynch (1-0)(Naomh Eoin), Fionn Connolly (1-1)(Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Jim Davis (Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Cahan Hallinan (0-2)(Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Thomas Cawley (0-7,6f,65'), (Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Blaine Waters (Ben Bulben Gaels), Fionn Moylan (0-2)(Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Fergal O' Kelly Lynch (1-0)( Naomh Eoin). Subs used in second half: Tola Carway(Ben Bulben Gaels), Anthony Fidgeon (Naomh Eoin), Ethan Scully (Naomh Eoin), Padraig Mc Gowan (Ben Bulben Gaels), Donal Keaveney (Naomh Eoin). Shane Molloy (Easkey/ St. Farnan's), Jamie O'Carroll ( Easkey/ St. Farnan's).

Donegal team: Philip Rodgers, Matthew Doherty (1-6(6f), Keenan Barrett, Matthew Noonan, Lochlann O'Dea, Cathal Wilson, Oran Duffy, Brendan Boyle, Ciaran Mc Grory, James Hartnett (0-1), Liam O'Doherty,(1-0), Donal O Buachalla, Gavin Forde, David Carey, Cathal Rodgers, Russell Forde, Pauraic Moss, Ruairi O'Connor, John Boyle (0-1f) Odhran Mc Gonigle, Daithi Roberts, Dylan Thomas, Niall Diver, Joe Greene, Rory Doherty, Darragh Mc Cormack, Paul O'Donnell, Oisin Randles, Tommie Lee Scully, Andrew O'Connor.

Sligo Champion