Tuesday 18 June 2019

Galway progress to final with victory over Sligo junior side

Sligo 0-08 Galway 2-15

Brian Marren

Sligo's Junior Championship campaign came to an end on Sunday at the hands of Galway who were comfortable winners in the end.

After some cagey opening exchanges, Galway centre-forward Michael Day opened the scoring after five minutes with a nice strike from just outside the D in from of the posts.

After Galway added another point through wing forward Sean Denvir, Sligo were dealt a hammer blow in the form of a goal, as a smart ball across the face of goal from Galway Full-forward Jonathan Ryan put Day through with only Lorcan Callaghan in the goal to beat.

Day deftly slid the ball underneath Callaghan into the back of the net.

With another point tacked on quickly after, The Yeatsmen were down 1-03 to no score after ten minutes, and the scoreline was in danger of getting out of control.

Sligo did eventually get off the mark from a placed ball through Tubbercurry's Darragh Kilcoyne, while another from full forward Darragh Hailstones reduced the deficit further still.

This quick revival was snuffed out in the ensuing 10 minutes however, as five unanswered Galway point brought the lead to nine with 5 minutes left in the first half.

It would only get worse for Sligo, as, despite another converted free form Kilcoyne (pictured left - pic by Tom Callanan), a goal from Galway's Aaron Walsh, whose finish, rifled into the roof of the net, would not look out of place in the day's later game.

As the first half drew to a close, the score line stood at Galway 2-09 to Sligo 1-03, and one feels that the margin was not undeserved on Galway's part.

The second half scoring was again opened by Michael Day, who wasted no time in extending Galway's lead into the teens, but that was soon brought back, as four of the next five points came of Sligo, Kilcoyne and Late replacement Niall Canning, of Underdog "fame", providing the scores.

In truth the game seemed to slow considerably In the last quarter of the contest, whether that be a product of the testing conditions, a stiff breeze and infrequent showers, or the absence of a competitive bite, as in became apparent that Galway's first half lead would prove unassailable.

Galway advance to the Connacht final, while Sligo's Junior year is wrapped up from another year.

Sligo: Lorcan Callaghan, Andy Flynn, Stephen Barrett, John McDonnell, Tony O'Kelly Lynch, Cathal Mullaney, Eoin Kent, James Carroll, Dillon McDermott, Stephen Connolly, Ciaran O'Connor, Darragh Kilcoyne (0-3, 0-2fs, 0-1 '45), Brian Coleman, Darragh Hailstones (0-3, 0-2fs), Ross Taheny

SUBS Adrian Cummins, B Tuohy, N Canning (0-1), C McDonnagh, B Morahan, D Kilcoyne

Galway: Cormac Haslem, Eddie O'Sullivan, Daniel Ó'Ruairc, Thomas Rabbitte, Damian Moran (0-1), Adrian Ward, Padraic O'Donnell (1-1), Alan Molloy, Conor Brady, Seán Denvir (0-4), Michael Day (1-3), Thomas Gleeson (0-2), Padraic Éoin Ó Currin, Jonathan Ryan (0-3, 0-1f), Tyler Ó Flaithearta

SUBS C Brennan, G Gibbons (0-1f), McDara Geraghty, K Murphy, M Ó'Conaola, B Rafferty

Sligo Champion