Monday 22 January 2018

First years gain emphatic win over Headford in Ballyhaunis

Summerhill first years coasted to an emphatic 7-8 to 1-2 win over Headford in the quarter final of the Connacht Colleges A Championshp at Ballyhaunis.

A Jack Moran goal settled Summerhill and they quickly added a goal and a point from captain, Shane Mooney. Headford fought back in determined fashion and a late penalty saw the Sligo lads go into the break with a lead of 2-3 to 1-1.

Summerhill regained the upper hand in the early stages of the second half. The backs were getting on top of their opposite numbers with excellent performances from the wing backs Finn Murphy and Cathal Byrne. Strong performances in the middle from both Shane Mooney and Kevin Connell ensured sufficient possession to win out.

SUMMERHILL: Mark Connell, David Watters, Niall Feehily, Hugh Kisby, Finn Murphy, Brian Cox, Cathal Byrne, Shane Mooney, Kevin Connell, Oliver White, Ryan Smith, Conal Stenson, Scott Lynch, Jack Moran, Oisil Kelly. Subs: Niall Campbell, Cathal Monds, Cian Harrison, Rett Solano, Emmett Harrison, Eamon Keaveny

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links