Wednesday 21 February 2018

Dynamic Mary's minors make it three-in-a-row

A DYNAMIC St. Mary's side strormed to their their Minor A Championship title in a row with this emphatic win over Tourlestrane at Markievicz Park on Saturday.

Mary's led by five points at the interval and stepped up the pace in the second half as they pulled away from a gallant Tourlestrane outfit.

The Sligo city side wasted no time in stamping their authority on the game with two first half goals laying the foundations for an impressive victory. Nathan Rooney grabbed the opening goal, finishing in style after good work by Darragh Kelly. It got worse for Tourlestrane minutes later as Mary's stuck for a second goal.

And again it was the result of great team work as Cian Breheny set off on a penetrating run from midfield before setting up Paul Kilcoyne who fired to the back of the net.

With Mary's well on top at midfield, they continued to create numerous chances and Darren O'Hara stretched their lead with a well taken point.

To their credit, Tourlestrane hit back in determined fashion and were unlucky not to get a goal when Eoghan Fleming's shot flew inches over the bar after good approach play by Cathal Henry had created the opportunity.

Two points by Kenny Gavigan kept the South Sligo side in touch while Stephen Henry, Rooney and Aaron McGoldrick added on points at the other end.

Tourlestrane finished the first half strongly, adding on two points to cut the gap to just five at the interval, 2-4 to 0-5.

The South Sligo side started well in the second half with opening point from John F Carr. They then had three wides in a row, however, and this handed the impetus back to St. Mary's. Cian Breheny added on a great score for the city side and then added three further points without replay to take a firm grip on the game.

Then Darragh Kelly put the issue beyond all doubt with a third goal for Mary's. They added on three further points in the closing stages to emerge as worthy champions.

ST. MARY'S: Niall Crawley,Peter Kelly, Hadi Moussa , Liam Henry,Ryan Feehily, Stephen Keenan(0-1,45),Gerard O'Kelly Lynch(0-1),Luke Nicholson,Cian Breheny(0-1),DarrenO'Hara(0-3,1f), Paul Kilcoyne(1-0), Darragh Kiely(1-0),Aaron McGoldrick(0-2),Nathan Rooney(1-2,1f), Stephen Henry(0-1):.Subs Used: Dylan Corcoran, Kyle Cawley, Rory Mullen(0-1)

TOURLESTRANE: Paul Meers,Darren Leonard,John Paul Lang, Naoise Leonard , Richie Lang, John F Carr(0-1),Sean Quinn, Oisin Kennedy(0-1), Cathal Henry(0-1),Rian Kennedy, Kenny Gavigan(0-2,1f),Ciaran Walsh, Liam Gaughan,Eoghan Fleming(0-1),ConorWalsh. Subs Used: Daniel Clarke , Conor Walsh, Matthew O'Hara, Daniel Broe REF: Pat Kilcoyne.

Sligo Champion

Promoted Links

Promoted Links