Wednesday 16 October 2019

Champions run rampant

Belfry Senior Football Championship Group 1 Rd 5: Tourlestrane 4-18 St Molaise Gaels 0-2

Emma Gallagher at Connolly Park

The scoreline summed up this dead rubber round 5 affair in Connolly Park on Sunday evening.

Reigning champions the unbeaten Tourlestrane, safely through to the quarter final stage while St Molaise Gaels knew they were facing a relegation play-off final before referee John Gilmartin had even thrown in the ball.

Not registering a single score in the second half, it was a day to forget for Willie Gormley's men who must focus now on their relegation battle with Eastern Harps.

Although captain Paddy McGowan put the North Sligo men on the scoreboard first with a point from play on 13 seconds, it was Tourlestrane who showed why they are aiming for 4 in a row this year, exuding precision all over the field with some sensational goals and points from play.

Johnny Kelly, Conan Marren, Rian Kennedy, John Marren and Brian Egan were among the hitmen for Tourlestrane, Kelly with 2 goals in the opening half, Egan with another as Eamonn O'Hara and Gerry McGowan's men were running rampant at a St Molaise Gaels side, who try as they might, couldn't get past their sturdy defence.

Egan saw his initial goal chance saved in the 10th minute, after Barry Walsh hit the crossbar but 2 minutes later Kelly found the net after a one-two with teammate Kenny Gavaghan.

A brilliant point from play from Alan McLoughlin on 14 minutes was to be St Molaise Gaels's last score.

Egan saw his next goal attempt saved by Niall McLoughin in the St Molaise Gaels goal but Egan pounced and got his side's second goal on 23 minutes, as they led by 2-7 to 0-2.

A minute later and Kelly got his second goal, neatly finishing to the left hand corner, with teammate Rian Kennedy also seeing his attempt hit the crossbar, as Tourlestrane led by 3-9 to 0-2 at the break. The second half continued with Tourlestrane dominating, Kennedy, Liam Gaughan and Stephen Henry among the point scorers and Marren finished off a fine display of 1-6 with is side's fourth goal on 59 minutes.

The champions march through win 4 wins from 4 to the quarter-final stage, where they meet Drumcliffe/Rosses Point.

TOURLESTRANE: A Broe, K O'Hara, B Walsh, D Leonard, O Kennedy, A McIntyre, J F Carr, S Henry, R Kennedy, K Gavaghan, J Kelly, J Marren, B Egan, C Marren, L Gaughan. Subs used: J Leonard (C), C Neary, G Gaughan, C Surlis.

Scorers: J Kelly (2-1), C Marren (1- 6), B Egan (1-2), R Kennedy (0-3), K Gavaghan (0-1), J Marren (0-1), L Gaughan (0-1, 1f), S Henry (0-1), A Dunne (0-1), C Surlis (0-1).

ST MOLAISE GAELS: N McLoughlin, C Clancy, R Ryan, L Kennedy, O Sheridan, J Kelly, E Farrell, C Burns, P McGowan (C), C O'Domhnaill, J Brennan, D Carroll, D Elliott, A McLoughlin, J Gilsenan. Subs used: J Spellman, A Currid, J McLoughlin, J Hegarty, E Watters.

Scorers: P McGowan (0-1), A McLoughlin (0-1).

REFEREE: J Gilmartin.

Sligo Champion