Thursday 18 January 2018

All Stars to sparkle at Radisson gala banquet

Sligo GAA clubs take centre stage on Friday

LEO GRAY Sports Editor

THE 2012 senior team will be unveiled at a gala banquet in the Radisson Hotel on Friday evening while the intermediate team, revealed in the Sligo Champion last week, will also receive their awards at the function.

Organised by The Sligo Champion and Sligo County Board, and supported by AIB, the awards scheme will honour players on the basis of performances in the senior and intermediate club championships this season.

The scheme was launched for the first time last year to mark the 175th anniversary of The Sligo Champion.

Last year's team was a combined senior and intermediate selection but this season's scheme will reward separate teams in each grade.

The widest possible selection process was undertaken as senior and intermediate clubs, as well as readers of The Sligo Champion, had an opporutnity to submit nominations.

The Intermediate team was revealed last week but the senior team will remain a closely guarded secret unti it is revealed at Friday's ceremony.

Player of the Year awards for both the senior and intermediate championships, and a Hall of Fame award, will also be presented on Friday.

County Board Chairman, Cyril Feehily, said the awards scheme showcased the extraordinary wealth of talent at senior and intermediate grades in the county.

The ceremony would be a fitting conclusion to another highly exciting season on the club scene and would be a great night of celebration for Sligo GAA, he said.

Members of the first ever All Stars Intermediate team who will receive their awards at Friday's banquet are David Flannery, Liam Og Gormley, Gary Feeney, Cormac Coyne, Neil Ewing, Michael Gormley, Garret Ryan, Padraig Doohan, Noel McGurie, Kevin Langan, Vincent Frizzell, Paul Logan, Mark Gormley, Padraig Clarke and Niall Judge.

County champions, Curry, lead the way in the nominations for the senior All Stars team with eleven nominees.

Other clubs with players included in the list for 45 nominees are:

St. Mary's (10), Coolera/Strandhill (8), Tourlestrane (5), Eastern Harps (3), Geevagh (2), St John's (2), St Molaise Gaels (1), Coolaney/Mullinabreena (1), Ballymote (1) and Shamrock Gaels (1)

The MC for the evening will be TG4's Micheal O'Domhnaill. Tickets for the gala banquet, costing €35, are currently on sale from the Sligo GAA office at Carraroe. You can contact them on (087 0524574).

Promoted Links

Promoted Links