| 23.6°C Dublin

History in the making as IT Sligo becomes a university


IT Sligo becomes a university today

IT Sligo becomes a university today

IT Sligo becomes a university today


History will be made today when IT Sligo officially becomes a university.

The new Atlantic Technological University will be officially designated during the first meeting of its governing body at ATU Donegal, Letterkenny.

The ATU will be formally launched on Monday.

The landmark inaugural meeting follows the granting last year of Technological University (TU) status to a consortium comprising Galway-Mayo, Sligo, and Letterkenny Institutes of Technology.

The Governing body of the new TU serving the west and north west, will meet at ATU Letterkenny to confirm ATU presidential designate Dr. Orla Flynn as president.

The ATU will be officially opened on Monday April 4 by Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, at an event in ATU Sligo, and live streamed to campuses in Galway, Mayo, and Donegal.

This is Sligo Newsletter

A weekly update on Sligo's leading stories in news and sport, straight to your inbox

This field is required

The ATU creates university campuses in counties Donegal, Sligo, Galway and Mayo for the first time while giving Galway city a second university option. It also offers students in the surrounding counties such Leitrim and Roscommon the option of a TU education.

ATU will serve 22,000 students and be one of the largest multi-campus universities in Ireland with 8 campuses, research centres and iHubs. The university will be supported by 2,200 staff, delivering practice-oriented study and research.

Some 600-plus higher educational programmes will be available at all levels of the National Framework of Qualifications from apprenticeships to doctoral level qualifications.

Ireland’s newest university will also on Friday reveal its new brand as part of the launch. The word ‘Atlantic” conveys power, strength, inspiration, creation, vast horizons – distinctive geography, rich history and shared heritage.

Technological University status was last year granted to a consortium comprising Galway-Mayo, Sligo and Letterkenny Institutes of Technology.

Earlier this month, Minister Harris designated Dr. Flynn as the first president

of the ATU. Dr. Flynn was previously president of Galway-Mayo Institute

of Technology.

The Governing body includes: Chair Maura McNally, Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland, Oonagh Monaghan, founder and Managing Director of Alpha Omega Consultants Ltd, Felim McNeela, founder of Avenue Mould Solutions, Anne McHugh, Chief Executive of Donegal ETB, who is the nominee of all three Education and Training Boards in whose areas the TU multi-campuses are located.

Commenting, Minister Harris said: “Dr Flynn brings a wealth of experience and expertise in the higher education sector. Orla is a passionate advocate for the region and has led GMIT to significant success, particularly in the Science, Maths and Technology sectors. She has forged close relationships with business throughout her career - an important part of the TU agenda.”