Thursday 20 June 2019

Four MEPs to be elected from 17 in Midlands NW

Voting in the European Elections will be held on the same day as the Local Elections, May 24th.

Sligo is part of the vast Midlands/North West Constituency which will return four MEPs and which stretches from Kildare to Galway and up to Donegal.

There is no candidate standing in the election from Sligo with outgoing MEP Marian Harkin (Indp) not standing again.

Outgoing MEP Luke 'Ming' Flanagan from Roscommon topped the poll last time out in 2014.

The two other outgoing MEPS are Mairead McGuinness (FG) and Matt Carthy (SF).

In 2014, the quota in Midlands North West was 129,290 - but that included the counties of Laois and Offaly which have now moved to Ireland South.

There are 17 declared candidates in Midlands North West. (4 seats):

Cyril Brennan (Solidarity-People Before Profit)

MEP Matt Carthy (Sinn Féin)*

Peter Casey (Independent)

MEP Luke "Ming" Flanagan (Independent)*

Patrick Greene (Direct Democracy Ireland)

Dominic Hannigan (Labour)

Fidelma Healy Eames (Independent)

Dilip Mahapatra (Independent)

MEP Mairead McGuinness (Fine Gael)*

Saoirse McHugh (Green Party)

James Miller (Independent)

Diarmaid Mulcahy (Independent)

Olive O'Connor (Independent)

Michael O'Dowd (Renua)

Anne Rabbitte (Fianna Fáil)

Brendan Smith (Fianna Fáil)

Maria Walsh (Fine Gael)

Midlands North West comprises Leitrim, Monaghan, Donegal, Cavan, Louth, Galway, Roscommon, Mayo, Sligo, Kildare, Meath, Longford and Westmeath.

A total of 13 MEPs will be elected in Ireland.

Ireland had been allocated two extra seats in the European Parliament because of Brexit, with one each going to Dublin and Ireland South, which would increase to four and five seaters respectively.

In the event of the UK not leaving the EU by the time of the elections, the fourth and fifth place finishers in Dublin and Ireland South will effectively be placed in reserve until Brexit happens and British MEPs leave the European Parliament.

The first plenary session of the new European Parliament is on July 2nd.

Sligo Champion