A variety on offer in Field Club book
Sligo Field Club will formally launch its latest Journal tomorrow (Wed) at Liber book store in O'Connell Stet at 7pm.
It's a treasure trove of fascinating articles about Sligo with excellent contributions from a wide range of writers who clearly have researched their topics thoroughly.
Amongst the many interesting articles are: 'A Death in Medieval Sligo' by Marion Dowd and Linda G. Lynch; 'Sligo Salt Industry 1700-1850' by Pat O'Brien; 'Railways in Collooney and Ballisodare' by Peter Bowen Walsh and on the nature side, 'Gulls of Sligo' by Michael Bell and 'Dragonflies and Damselflies of Sligo' by Don Cotton.
Also there are articles by local archaeologist, Martin A. Timoney who writes with great clarity on The Ring Cairn on Moffitt's Burrow, Edenreagh, County Sligo and about a monument in the sandhills in Mullaghmore, 'The Bunduff, County Sligo Four Poster.'
Sure to provoke interest too is the contribution from Sam Moore and Johanna Callaghan who write about, The Story of a Priest, a Cairn and a Bead: A Nineteenth Century Excavation in the Vicinity of Keash.'
Sligo Field Club is a voluntary body which has been to the forefront of local heritage for over 70 years.
It regularly hosts talks and lectures as well as outings. This volume is the second book produced by the group and already thoughts are turning to a third volume with potential authors being asked to consider submitting articles for consideration by June 1st next.
The Editor, Jim Foran can be contacted at firstname.lastname@example.org