Monday 16 July 2018

North West artists exhibition at two venues

An impressive collection of paintings, drawings, sculpture and other media by artists from the North West region will be on view at Sligo Art Gallery and Sligo Park Hotel through the month of October.

The North West Artist Exhibition 2004 will be officially opened on Wednesday evening 29th September by Mayor of Sligo Cllr. Declan Bree.

The artwork on show was selected from a record submission from artists in the North West Region of Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Fermanagh, Leitrim, Mayo Roscommon Tyrone and Sligo. Artists in this region were invited to submit up to three artworks each in any of the following media, painting, drawing, print, sculpture and photography.

Sligo Art Gallery organise this important exhibition on a bi annual basis. The exhibition is designed to provide a forum for professional and amateur artists from the region in which to exhibit their work. It is often the first opportunity an artist will receive to exhibit work in a professionally run gallery. Work of a very high standard will be on view. Those wishing to acquire at reasonable cost a painting, drawing or piece of sculpture should visit Sligo Art Gallery early in the exhibition.

The artists exhibiting are: Donal Adams, Marvin Baldemor, Stephen Bennett, William Blanc, Olive Bodeker, Bohdan, Kieran Breslin, Trish Bushe,Declan Butler, Andrew Chatalov, Majella Clancy, Pauline Clancy, Vivienne Clarke, Mary Colgan, Noreen Colreavy, Brigid Corcoran, John Conway, Michael Cummins, Jeanne Dolan, Stephen Doyle, Eileen Duke, Teri Farrell, Beatrice Finn, Denise Ferran, Maurice G Meade, Vera Gaffney, Annette Gaffney, Annie Harrison, Peter Healy, Marianne Heemskerk, Irene Hegarty Gill Hewitt, Amy Hoedemakers, Patricia Kelly, Dorothee Kolle, Marjorie Leonard, Joe Leonard, Alma Lindsey, Frank Ludwig, Brenda McArdle, Eilish McCann, Feena McCarthy, Olivia McCarthy, Edwina McDonagh, Philip McFadden, Fergal McLoughlin, Mary Morgan,Walter Michael, Marie Molloy, Cynthia Moran, Marie Mullan, Mura Mullan, Eamon Mullarkey, Marie Munnelly, Vivien Murray, Olive Neary, Seosamh O’Dalaigh, Ada O’Donnell, Aileen O’Donnell, Catriona O’Leary, Tom O’Rourke, Tom O’Toole,Gay O Toole, Cilla Patton, Dobromir Petrov, Anthony Pilbro, Helen Pinoff, Chus Quesada, Mary Quigley, Margot Quinn, Neil Quirke, Eamon Regan, Anna Reitberger, Klaus Rethorn, William Robertson, Diane Roemer, Eugene Rooney, Marianne Schmidt, Lorraine Smith, Tim Stampton, Evelyn Staunton, Ana Stromberg, Elizabeth Thomas, Mavis Thomson, Frank Tinney, Else Vanderlecq, Patric Verdon, Stephen Wallace, Michael Wann, and Frances Waters O’Dowd.

A special selection from the exhibition will be show at the Sligo Park Hotel and may be viewed there in the foyer of the hotel. All are welcome to visit the exhibition at Sligo Art Gallery situated in the Yeats Memorial Building. Admission is free to all. School groups are welcome to visit by prior appointment. Telephone 071 91 45847.