Sunday 24 March 2019

Countdown on to Sligo Live

Sligo Live is fast approaching and the October festival, now in its 14th year, is offering a bumper selection of music to enthral audiences.

The acclaimed festival is beginning on October 24th and continuing until October 29th.

Among this year's headliners are Dara O'Briain, The Boomtown Rats, Lisa Hannigan, Hudson Taylor and many more.

The Festival Village will take Sligo Live into the heart of town, transforming Andersons into a funky non-stop live music and entertainment venue during the October Bank Holiday weekend.

This new initiative is one of several collaborations with Sligo's renowned music venues and BID Sligo to make the city centre buzz with life over the Sligo Live weekend.

The Festival Club will take place over 2 floors from 10:30pm until late. More exciting and novel additions to the Sligo Live Programme will be exclusively announced in the Sligo Champion over the coming weeks as Sligo works together to extend the Festival's reach and make Sligo Live 2018, the best and most inclusive since its foundation back in 2005.

Sligo Live is delighted to announce Hudson Taylor will headline a series of concerts celebrating Irish artists including Catherine McGrath, Little Hours, Brave Giant, and Síomha (Shee-va) and a host of emerging Arrivals artists over three nights in the Festival Club.

Sligo Live have selected some of the hottest new artists on today's scene to broaden the appeal of the all-new Festival Village. The Festival Club will feature some of Ireland's hottest happening acts on the Headline Stage, and continuing the Sligo Live tradition of supporting new acts, a selection of exciting new artists will play on the acoustic Arrivals Stage downstairs. Friday sees new country-pop sensation, Catherine McGrath and her band paired with Síomha and her band on the Headline Stage.

Catherine McGrath is an Irish singer and songwriter whose music blends fresh-faced pop with influences straight from Nashville.

Rapidly rising Choice Music Prize nominee, Little Hours and his band shares the Headline Stage with Longford's Brave Giant on Saturday Night.

Little Hours is the musical moniker for Killybegs multi-instrumentalist and songwriter John Doherty. This young artist from Donegal crafts subtle and sublime pop moments blending acoustic guitar, piano and his unique commanding voice.

Sharing Saturday's Headline stage with Little Hours will be Brave Giant whose love of Irish music is evident in their sound, a skilfully achieved blend of rock, folk and alternative influences.

It's been an exciting year for Sunday night's headliners Dublin brothers Harry and Alfie Hudson Taylor.

Hudson Taylor signed to Rubyworks and released their 'Feel It Again' EP, which was Top 5 in the Irish album charts, giving their fans the first taste of their forthcoming second album, produced by Ryan Hadlock, best known for his work with The Lumineers and Vance Joy, and mixed by Ruadhri Cushnan (Mumford & Sons, Ed Sheeran).

Tickets for Hudson Taylor are €19.00 + s.c. (€1 on are on sale now.

Tickets for Friday and Saturday Festival Club nights are each €16.00 + s.c. from and Hawk's Well Theatre (071 916 1518).

All three shows will feature an exciting array of indie acts on the Arrivals Stage each evening giving clubbers a choice of performances and the club will offer hot festival food for festivalgoers on the run. Sometimes it's difficult to stop and eat!

Sligo Live MultiPass Tickets at €129.50 + s.c. facilitate booking at all seated concerts, admission to the unique Festival Club, the Arrivals emerging artists' strand, and the renowned The Fiddler of Dooney competition. The bumper line-up includes Dara O'Briain (Knocknarea Arena Thursday), The Boomtown Rats (Knocknarea Arena Saturday),The Bootleg Beatles (Knocknarea Arena Sunday), Lisa Hannigan (Hawk's Well Friday), Saint Sister and Niamh Farrell (Hawk's Well Saturday) Rhiannon Giddens (Hawk;s Well Sunday) with more names being announced in the Sligo Champion in the run up to what promises to be another fantastic Sligo Live festival.


Sligo Champion