Sunday 22 April 2018

Byrne Cup to be run in 13-a-side format

THE A.G.M. of the Jim Byrne Cup Minor football committee took place in the Horse and Hound, Ballinaboola, recently.

The 2011-2012 competitions were deemed to be a good success with 19 teams taking part. The first games in this season's event will take place on Sunday, November 25.

Teams will be confined to 13 players plus substitutes, and the cups, medals and monetary rewards to be spent for training and coaching purposes including a trip away will remain as last year at €2,000 for the Byrne Cup winners. If the trip is not being organised the outright winners will instead receive €1,500 towards training gear.

There will be €300 for the runners-up, and €300 also for the winners of the O'Loughlin Cup and Martin Cullen Cup competitions. A €350 profit was made on last year's competitions after all expenses had been paid out which is a tribute to the hard-working Treasurer, Monica Ferguson, and her husband, Jim, who is Vice-Chairman. Total income for the year was €4,965 and total expenses amounted to €4,615.

It's hoped that this year's entries will exceed 20 teams. The entry fee remains at €50 and all entries including the €50 must reach the Treasurer Monica Ferguson, Kilcavan, Ballymitty, Wellingtonbridge, by Friday, November 16, at the latest.

Shelmaliers won last year's Jim Byrne Cup

competition with Starlights as runners-up. Glynn-Barntown defeated Castletown in the O'Loughlin Cup final, while Taghmon-Camross beat Naomh Eanna in the Martin Cullen Cup decider.

The following were elected for the coming year: President, Paddy Wickham (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy); Chairman, Shay Keevans (Gusserane); Vice-Chairman, Jim Ferguson (BannowBallymitty); Secretary, Fintan Whyte (St. James'); Treasurer, Monica Ferguson (Bannow-Ballymitty); P.R.O., Jimmy Mc Donald (Adamstown); District representatives - Jimmy Browne (Gorey), Jim Flood (Wexford), Aidan O'Brien, Cloughbawn (Enniscorthy) and Nicholas Murphy, TaghmonCamross (New Ross).