Wednesday 16 October 2019

Young points way for Carnew

GAA: Top Oil South Leinster Junior Hurling 'C' final replay - Colaiste Bhride 1-13 Wexford C.B.S. 1-10

Wexford C.B.S. captain Darragh Carley soloing away from Stephen Kenny (Coláiste Bhríde).
Wexford C.B.S. captain Darragh Carley soloing away from Stephen Kenny (Coláiste Bhríde).

Alan Aherne in Ferns C.O.E.

It was the Owen and Eoin show in the Halo Tiles and Bathrooms Ferns Centre of Excellence on Friday when Coláiste Bhríde of Carnew maintained their high performance levels from the drawn game to deservedly beat a below-par Wexford C.B.S. in the replayed Top Oil South Leinster Schools Junior hurling 'C' championship final.

The desire to succeed was strong throughout the winning team, but they wouldn't have got over the line without the outstanding marksmanship of their captain, Owen Young, who enjoyed a very impressive strike rate of eleven points from twelve placed balls.

And while Wexford C.B.S. were never too far behind their rivals, when the pressure was greatest on Coláiste Bhríde in the second-half, Eoin Kavanagh stood tall and was an immovable powerhouse in the heart of their defence.

The young man with number 12 on his back exemplified the defiance of the victors as he repeatedly broke forward and made relieving clearances, while Adam O'Donoghue, Shane Browne, Brendan Tobin and Joe Conroy also made major contributions to a memorable win for the Carnew lads.

C.B.S. had justifiable grounds for complaint when referee John McCormack only played one minute and 51 seconds of added time after a second-half punctuated by a series of stoppages for injuries.

Having said that, they never reached the same levels as in the first outing in late January, and there was no denying that victory went to the far superior team.

Carnew enjoyed a dream start when full-forward Joe Conroy, scorer of 3-2 from play in the drawn game, kicked the sliothar to the net from close range in the second minute.

His threat was reduced later in the half when Ben Hynes was assigned man-marking duties, with C.B.S. captain Darragh Carley sweeping in front of him, but the concession of frees cost the Boker boys several scores as their rivals established a 1-6 to 0-3 lead by the 16th minute.

Indeed, while points from Josh Carley and Cian Doyle (two) left the Wexford town lads only one in arrears midway through the first quarter, they went on to concede five on the trot.

The ever-reliable Owen Young split the posts three times from frees to bring his tally to four, with Conroy and Eoin Kavanagh chipping in from play, but much of the credit for that healthy gap went to netminder Adam O'Donoghue after he dived high to his left to keep out an Eoin Hartigan shot that seemed destined for the top corner of the net.

Oliver McMahon pulled back a point before the goal C.B.S. required did arrive in the 23rd minute. Zach Breslin delivered the ball into the danger zone from the left corner, and it was eventually moved on to Josh Carley who beat O'Donoghue with a composed finish to reduce arrears to 1-6 to 1-4.

The respective free-takers accounted for the remainder of the scores before the break, with three Owen Young points for Carnew plus one in reply from Cian Doyle leaving the south Wicklow side ahead by 1-9 to 1-5 at half-time.

That pattern continued on the re-start, with Young and Doyle swapping further scores before the former moved into double figures and eased his team clear by 1-12 to 1-6.

Conor Wafer threw himself at the ball in his own square in the 41st minute to keep out a low goalbound shot from Jason Gordon, and that was another key moment for Carnew who were facing the breeze after the interval.

Immediately after that incident, the first second-half score from play arrived in the form of a fine long-range point from C.B.S. defender Calum Corcoran.

Owen Young had a shot blocked for a '65 that he duly pointed in the 43rd minute, but that proved to be the last Carnew score as the pressure mounted on their rearguard (1-13 to 1-7).

C.B.S. did pull back three points via Cian Doyle frees, but they lacked a real cutting edge in attack while opposing goalkeeper Adam O'Donoghue remained a study in composure.

He dealt with one shot in the 55th minute that C.B.S. substitute Oisín Waters didn't get hold of properly, and he also batted out another Doyle free at the death after the losers ascertained from the referee that time wasn't on their side.

While the general standard didn't match the heights of the thrilling drawn encounter, that won't matter to an overjoyed Coláiste Bhríde who struck four of the game's nine wides and were awarded 18 of the 38 frees.

Coláiste Bhríde: Adam O'Donoghue (Askamore); James Doyle (Craanford), Conor Wafer (Carnew Emmets), Cormac Redmond (Carnew Emmets); Shane Browne (Avondale), Thomas Collins (Carnew Emmets), John Young (Carnew Emmets); Seán Hughes (Ballynastragh Gaels), Eoin Kavanagh (Carnew Emmets, 0-1); Brendan Tobin (Craanford), Owen Young (Carnew Emmets, capt., 0-11, 10 frees, 1 '65), Thomas Hayden (Tinahely); Cian Ó Túama (Naomh Eanna), Joe Conroy (Craanford, 1-1), Stephen Kenny (Askamore). Subs. - Adam Hadden (Tinahely), Seán Kehoe (Askamore), Pádraig Donoghue (Craanford), Larry Kinsella (Tinahely), Maurice Tobin (Craanford), Ben O'Donoghue (Craanford), Maurice Shiel (Carnew Emmets), Conor Byrne (Annacurra), Dan Redmond (Carnew Emmets), Dan Hedderman (Tinahely), Eddie Smith (Carnew Emmets), Caoimhín Rawson (Carnew Emmets).

Wexford C.B.S.: Chris Ryan (St. Martin's); Seán Byrne (Faythe Harriers), Darragh Carley (Glynn-Barntown, capt.), Mark Doyle (Taghmon-Camross); Tommy Gallagher (Glynn-Barntown), Ben Hynes (Faythe Harriers), Calum Corcoran (Faythe Harriers, 0-1); Eoin Kavanagh (Faythe Harriers), Jason Gordon (Faythe Harriers); Cian Doyle (Shelmaliers, 0-7, 5 frees), Josh Carley (Glynn-Barntown, 1-1), Oliver McMahon (Faythe Harriers, 0-1); Tadhg Brohan (St. Mary's, Rosslare), Zach Breslin (St. Martin's), Eoin Hartigan (Faythe Harriers). Subs. - Liam Donoghue (Glynn-Barntown) for McMahon (38), Oisín Waters (St. Martin's) for Brohan (42), Rian Sammon (Blackwater) for Donoghue, inj. (54), also Andrew Moran (St. Anne's), Owen McNulty (Buffers Alley), Jake Doyle (Glynn-Barntown), Alex Looney (St. Mary's, Rosslare), Ollie Gould (St. Mary's, Rosslare), David Kelly (Taghmon-Camross), Rian Doyle (St. Mary's, Rosslare), Cillian Doyle (Our Lady's Island), Conor Keane (St. Martin's), Jack Corcoran (Faythe Harriers), Fionn O'Callaghan (Glynn-Barntown).

Referee: John McCormack (Kilkenny).

New Ross Standard