Sunday 18 February 2018

Wexford thwarted by fluid midlands fifteen

WEXFORD AND Offaly travelled to Graiguecullen recently to play in the Leinster Under-16 'A' Shield final won the more fluid midlands outfit.

For the first five minutes it was all Wexford but they were not able to take their scores, and when Offaly broke down the field in their first attack they goaled when Anne Daly shot to the roof of the net.

Offaly tagged on two points before Wexford got their first score when Rebecca Foley found the net, but Offaly's Ciara Connolly then scored two goals in as many minutes to put further distance between the teams.

Both teams exchanged points before Caoimhe Roche goaled for Wexford to keep them in the hunt but, straight from the kick-out, Offaly went back up the field and centre-forward Aoife Corbit scored her side's fourth goal to put eight points between them.

Wexford got it back to two when Tara Doyle and Amy Banville goaled but this was as close as they got as Offaly took the game by the scruff of the neck over the next five minutes.

Player of the match Róisín Egan goaled from the penalty spot, Ciara Connolly got her third goal and points followed from Anne Daly and Elle McEvoy.

Wexfords Amy Banville replied with a long-range point but Offaly finished off the half with two goals and points from Róisín Egan (1-1), Elle McEvoy (1-0) and Anne Daly (0-1) to leave the score 8-7 to 4-2.

Offaly, who were now playing with the breeze, added two points within a couple of minutes of the re-start and it looked like it was going to be a long half for the Slaneysiders, but they dug deep and got the next two scores, a goal from Ciara McKelvie and a point from Noeleen Shanahan to keep them in the hunt.

Offaly, who were playing intelligent football, continued to tag on points to keep them well ahead before goalkeeper Laura Dunne, while under pressure from Mary Carroll, managed to drop the ball over her own line to give Wexford their sixth goal. Offaly tagged on another five points before the end while Wexford's Hayley Murphy and Leanne Corrigan scored one each.

Wexford: Bríd Byrne; Donna Morrissey, Chloe Troy, Aoife Fanning; Leanne Corrigan (0-1), Ciara Goland, Emer Buckley; Hayley Murphy (0-1), Laura Bruen; Ann Byrne, Tara Doyle (1-0), Ciara McKelvie (1-1); Noeleen Shanahan (0-1), Rebecca Foley (capt., 1-0, Caoimhe Roche (1-0). Subs. - Amy Banville (1-1) for Morrissey, Mary Carroll for Roche, Niamh Treacy for Fanning, Emma Gainford for McKelvie, Ciara Nolan for Troy, inj., also Cassie O'Rourke, Gráinne Byrne, Michelle Ryan, Rianna Cullen, Chloe Fox, Niamh Mernagh.

New Ross Standard

Promoted Links

Promoted Links