Wednesday 12 December 2018

Six-goal Oulart win thriller

GAA, Rackard League Roinn A Hurling Final: Oulart 6-4 Piercestown 1-10

Kevin O’Mahony of Piercestown takes aim with Aaron Royce in pursuit
Kevin O’Mahony of Piercestown takes aim with Aaron Royce in pursuit

Old rivals Piercestown and Oulart met in the Roinn A Rackard League hurling final in Innovate Wexford Park.

Weather conditions were bad, but both teams didn't let that dampen their spirits as the game got off to a cracking start, with Piercestown playing with a strong breeze.

Oulart started to attack from the off but, thanks to a great save by Piercestown goalie, Ryan Sinnott, their efforts were denied.

Shortly after, they rattled the net twice within the first two minutes, with Simon Roche and Peter Wickham doing the honours.

Piercestown-Murrintown replied with a point from a free from Eoin Sinnott and their backs fought hard despite the constant strain being put on them by Oulart's classy forwards.

Ben Larkin and his colleagues made excellent efforts to deny Oulart finding the net again. Eoin Sinnott kept the scores coming with a goal and a further two points from a '65 and a free.

Oulart responded with an excellent ball from Roche to Jack Dunne who didn't waste any time in burying it in the net.

Piercestown didn't drop their heads and continued to challenge Oulart in all areas throughout the field. Oulart's Eoin Mongan and Dylan Butler stayed strong and made excellent clearances to get the ball away from the danger zone around the full-back line.

Jack Dunne pointed an excellent score after Peter Wickham met the net for the second time before half-time, leaving Oulart ahead by 4-2 to 1-6.

It was clear the crowd were in for a treat when the second-half began as Oulart's Jack Dunne aimed for the full-forward line but was denied any score as Piercestown's Josh Cooney made a superb clearance.

Soon after, Dunne made another effort, this time reaching the impressive Roche who rattled the net.

Later Oulart struck for the sixth goal of the game with an impressive shot from Alex Howlin and, as the old cliché goes, goals win matches.

Oulart were well on top and continued in the same vein with the benefit of great hurlers in Dylan Byrne, J.D. Masterson, Kian O'Connor, Peter Wickham and not forgetting the influential duo of Roche and Dunne.

Piercestown-Murrintown saw a few more scores coming from Sinnott on frees. Despite some excellent efforts from Oscar Barry, Adam Connick and Conn Mernagh, it was not meant to be.

The Roinn A cup was presented to Oulart's captain, Simon Roche, by Rackard League Chairman, Kevin Waters.

Oulart: Jason Rossiter; Cole Blake, Eoin Mongan, Oisín Moore; Kevin Redmond, Dylan Butler, J.D. Masterson; Kian O'Connor, Ben Harper; Peter Wickham, Simon Roche, Jack Dunne; Rhys Wickham, Aaron Royce, Matthew Ryan. Subs. - Adam Butler, Alex Howlin, Dean Cox, Josh Sinnott, Frank Gallagher, Daniel Gallagher.

Piercestown: Ryan Sinnott; Cian O'Dowd, Ben Larkin, Luke Whitty; Kevin O'Mahony, Conn Mernagh, Adam Newport; Oscar Barry, Eoin Sinnott; Alex Lafferty, James Hegarty, Alfie Jeffares; Adam Connick, Conor Mullen, Eric O'Gorman. Subs. - Leo Barry, Josh Cooney, Cormac Simpson, Timmy Somers, Daniel O'Mahony, Ciarán Kelly, Eoin Dodd, Eoin Dunne, Charlie Quirke, Rory Roche, Charlie Newport, Sam King, Niall Hamilton, John Dwyer.

New Ross Standard