Wednesday 17 January 2018

Mary's have Cloke to thank for victory

A BRILLIANT save near the end by goalie Dylan Cloke was the vital difference between the sides when St. Mary's C.B.S. defeated Gorey Community School in Gorey in the South Leinster Schools Senior football 'B' championship quarter-final.

The winners will now meet Naas C.B.S.

St. Mary's were leading by three points at the time, but Gorey had closed the interval six-point gap with a goal and a series of points, so another goal to level would have provided them with the impetus to go on and win. However, the save and a steadying point from Michael Condon stopped the rot and, although Gorey came back with another point, they could not close the gap and the winners had three points to spare.

St. Mary's dominated the first-half, with well-taken goals in the eighth and 22nd minutes from Seamus Casey and Michael Condon laying the foundation for the eventual win. The Gorey attack proved fairly anodyne during that period, with all their scores, except the last two points, coming from frees by full-forward Ross Bealin.

It was 2-6 to 0-6 at half-time but Gorey were the sharper side after the break. Although St. Mary's equalled their scores until the 20th minute, Gorey showed greater hunger and enthusiasm, and a goal in the 50th minute, when Adam Dunbar took a long pass from outfield and ran through to crash to the net, reduced the difference to four points.

A point from Halpin left a goal between them entering the final minutes and it would have been almost impossible to put a halt to their gallop were it not for Cloke's instinctive save.

St. Mary's: Dylan Cloke (Starlights); Declan Courtney (Starlights), Graham Parker (Ballyhogue), Eoin Dempsey (Buffers Alley); Ben Edwards (Starlights, 0-2), Shane Doyle (Ballyhogue), Dylan Redmond (Starlights); Conor Byrne (Ballyhogue), Nick Doyle (Starlights); Ciarán Hourihane (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 0-1), Darragh Pepper (Starlights 0-3 frees), Pádraig Doyle (Shamrocks); Michael Condon (Ballyhogue, 1-2), Ian Curran (Blackwater), Seamus Casey (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 1-3, 0-1 free). Subs. - Peter Breen (Monageer-Boolavogue), Ian Hawkins (Monageer-Boolavogue), Daniel English, Shaun O'Shea, Alan Hickey.

Gorey C.S.: Corey Meyler (Naomh Eanna); Eoin Corcoran (Réalt na Mara), Michael O'Brien (St. Patrick's), Seamus O'Donnell (Naomh Eanna); Gary Molloy (Naomh Eanna), Ollie Doran (Craanford, 0-1), Stephen Hempenstall (Naomh Eanna, 0-1); Cathal Dunbar (Réalt na Mara), Kevin Harrington (Naomh Eanna); Liam Condren (Castletown), Dylan Sweeney (Réalt na Mara, 0-3), Adam Dunbar (Naomh Eanna, 1-0); Eoin McGuckin (Naomh Eanna), Ross Bealin (Castletown, 0-4 frees), Marc Halpin (Castletown, capt., 0-2). Sub. - Ryan Murphy (Castletown).

Referee: Pat Hickey (Wicklow).

New Ross Standard

Promoted Links

Promoted Links