Monday 11 December 2017

Horeswood have too much guile for Mary's

THE CONCESSION of three second-half goals didn't deter Horeswood as they dismissed St. Mary's (Rosslare) and racked up their third straight Top Oil Intermediate 'A' hurling championship victory in Taghmon on Friday last.

A spectacular 22 points, only two of which came from the starting inside forward line, was more than enough against a Rosslare side which slumped to its third consecutive defeat and now prop up the Group 'A' table.

Eight of those minors were unanswered and came in the first 18 minutes. Star forward Michael O'Hanlon (pictured) notched an early trio, while Declan Murphy and Seán Stafford hit doubles as Horeswood excelled.

St. Mary's struggled mightily to get into gear in the opening half and went in at the interval with just two Paul Kinsella points, scored in a 60-second 'purple-patch', to their name.

O'Hanlon continued to shine for Horeswood and he pointed in spectacular fashion when controlling a punt forward and clipping over all in one motion to help the New Ross District side into a 0-15 to 0-2 half-time lead.

Two further O'Hanlon points were on the board before the St. Mary's fightback began when Lee Devereux collected Paul Kinsella's pass and rattled a powerful strike past Wayne Power (0-17 to 1-2).

One goal quickly became two just minutes later when Tiarnan Rossiter pulled home from close range off the deck, but the Wexford District side couldn't kick on, managing just one point in the next ten minutes.

Horeswood, for their part, never reached the heights of the first-half but continued to tack on points, with O'Hanlon taking his personal tally to ten, while influential midfielder Declan Murphy racked up exactly half that total.

Rosslare did get one more Rossiter major to claw their way to within seven in injury time. However, Horeswood looked comfortable winners from early in the game and they hung on to all but book their quarter-final place with two games remaining.

Horeswood: Wayne Power; Gavin Murphy, Darren O'Reilly, Ivan Kehoe; Lorcan O'Brien, Shane O'Hanlon, Paddy Roche; Declan Murphy (0-5), Tommy Quinn (0-1); Tomás Kent (0-1), Seán Stafford (0-3), Michael O'Hanlon (0-10, 2 '65s, 2 frees); Jason Larkin, Eddie Breen (0-2), Craig Murphy. Subs. - David Furlong for C. Murphy, David O'Shea for Quinn, Mark Nolan for Roche, Kevin Rowe for G. Murphy.

St. Mary's: Graham Mullen; Bryan Meyler, Peter Carr, Emmet Byrne; Aaron Kehoe, James Sheil, Naomhan Rossiter; Ned Power, Chris Walsh; Niall Walsh, Paul Kinsella (0-3), Lee Devereux (1-1, 0-1 free); Derek Brohan, Oscar Pitt (0-1), Darragh Heffernan. Subs. - Tiarnan Rossiter (2-1) for Heffernan, Andrew Murphy for Brohan, Ger Foran for Walsh.

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Blackwater).

New Ross Standard

Promoted Links

Promoted Links