Wednesday 16 October 2019

Heartbreaking exit

Camogie: Clonakilty 1-4 Colaiste Bride 0-5

Siobhán SInnott strikes for Coláiste Bríde under pressure from Clonakilty defender Jessica McCarthy
Siobhán SInnott strikes for Coláiste Bríde under pressure from Clonakilty defender Jessica McCarthy

Brian Carty in St. Patrick's Park

The disappointment was palpable as Coláiste Bríde (Enniscorthy) crashed out of the All-Ireland Junior 'B' camogie championship after a narrow 1-4 to 0-5 defeat to Sacred Heart (Clonakilty) in Saturday's semi-final played in effectively a wind tunnel at St. Patrick's Park.

The local girls signalled their intent from the first whistle as stellar centre-back Miria O'Dowd made an incision through the middle to win a free which Siobhán Sinnott tapped over for the opener.

However, the visitors from west Cork responded in kind soon after when a point attempt from Millie Condon came back down off the post, and Anna Flynn stole in to flash to the dressing-room end net and open up a 1-0 to 0-1 lead after two minutes.

Remarkably, that was their only score from play as they relied heavily on the dead-ball prowess of Daire and Éimear O'Brien, with the latter adding a free and the former converting a '45 to make it 1-2 to 0-1 by the end of the first quarter.

Coláiste Bríde were prominent in the middle third, if a little lack-lustre inside, although they fashioned a real goal chance on 24 minutes when Sinnott fed Leah Scallan, but the sliothar squirmed away from her as she prepared to shoot, with Cora Redmond pulling the loose ball wide.

However, when Scallan was tripped in the square a minute later, Sinnott stood over the resultant penalty and settled for a point as the gap was cut to 1-2 to 0-2 at the break.

In hindsight, perhaps a gamble at goal then may have been appropriate given the paucity of scoring chances that followed.

Orla Redmond popped over the only point from play on the re-start after initially drawing a save from Sinéad McCarthy, and Enniscorthy carried the fight with their renowned pride as the second-half wore on.

Éimear O'Brien and Sinnott swapped frees as the difference remained at two points, while Sinnott registered a hard-earned free as Coláiste Bríde moved to within 1-3 to 0-5 with six minutes remaining.

Captain Ciara O'Connor led the home charge with a barnstorming display down the right wing, though her side found Clonakilty's Emma O'Driscoll in imperious form first at full-back and then at centre-back.

And Coláiste Bríde's fate was sealed in injury time when Éimear O'Brien notched her third free as they came up just short.

Coláiste Bríde: Anna Nolan (Oylegate-Glenbrien); Róisín Scallan (Ferns St. Aidan's), Abbie Dagg (Rapparees), Lauren Delaney (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy); Ciara O'Connor (Rapparees, capt.), Miria O'Dowd (Oulart-The Ballagh), Eabha Farrell (Rapparees); Lucy-Jo Egan (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy), Loren Doyle (Oylegate-Glenbrien); Orla Redmond (Oylegate-Glenbrien, 0-1), Kellyanne Dempsey (Oylegate-Glenbrien), Siobhán Sinnott (Oulart-The Ballagh, 0-4, 3 frees, 1 pen.); Cora Redmond (Oulart-The Ballagh), Leah Scallan (Oylegate-Glenbrien), Nadine Fortune (Ferns St. Aidan's). Subs. - Sarah Walsh (Oulart-The Ballagh) for Fortune, Donna Delahunty (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy for C. Redmond (55), Anna Jevens (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy) for R. Scallan, inj. (58), also Leona Buckley, Katie Foley, Guevara Hughes (all Cloughbawn), Ciara Doyle, Ruth Bolger (both Marshalstown), Isobel Kavanagh (Duffry Rovers), Ciara Lawlor, Ríoghna Hourihane (both Oylegate-Glenbrien), Bronagh Kenny, Niamh Larkin-Cooney (both Oulart-The Ballagh), Muireann Murphy (Ferns St. Aidan's), Dara O'Leary (Monageer-Boolavogue), Laura McGuinness (Blackwater).

Sacred Heart (Clonakilty): Sinéad McCarthy; Alannah O'Brien, Emma O'Driscoll, Mary Murphy; Jessica McCarthy, Daire O'Brien (capt., 0-1 '45), Kellie O'Gorman; Annie Condon, Katie O'Donovan; Lydia Sutton, Caoimhe Murphy, Maeve Kingston; Millie Condon, Anna Flynn (1-0), Éimear O'Brien (0-3 frees). Sub. - Orlaith Deasy for M. Condon (46).

Referee: Gavin Donegan (Dublin).

New Ross Standard