Thursday 23 May 2019

Harriers best in score-fest

EEW All-County Hurling League Division 4: Faythe Harriers 3-18 Rapparees 5-9

David Gouldson under pressure from Tom Ryan, back in the Rapparees jersey after his rugby exploits as Enniscorthy captain
David Gouldson under pressure from Tom Ryan, back in the Rapparees jersey after his rugby exploits as Enniscorthy captain

Brendan Furlong

After a game that produced eight goals, Faythe Harriers emerged with a four-point victory over a battling Rapparees outfit in this entertaining EEW All-County Hurling League Division 4 game in Páirc Charman on Saturday.

Just two minutes into this game the opening goal materialised when Harriers full-forward Pádraigh Farrell pounced on a breaking ball to find the net from close range.

This set the scene for what was to follow as both sides showed their attacking intent, capitalising on every opportunity presented which led to some excellent scores in the process.

By the end of the opening quarter, the Wexford town side led by 2-2 to 0-3, with the second goal arriving courtesy of Chris Glover after ten minutes.

A fine individual John Ryan goal got the Rapps up and running, and when Craig Foley also found the net it left the minimum separating the well-matched sides at the interval (1-8 to 2-4).

With the play really opening up on the resumption, as the sides exchanged points through Conor Halligan and John Ryan, a Shane Howard 42nd-minute goal put the Harriers into a 2-9 to 2-5 lead.

Rapparees upped the tempo of their play, producing a series of attacks that led to goals from Niall McCrea (two) and John Ryan, but Glen Murphy-Butler picked off a string of pointed frees in response.

A Shane Howard 50th-minute goal saw the Harriers regain the lead, giving them a two-point cushion to take into the final stages.

A Craig Foley point left the minimum separating the sides, but the Harriers finished with points from Glen Murphy (two) and Conor Halligan to emerge with a hard-earned victory.

Faythe Harriers: Adam McDaid; Jake Clancy, Cathal Kirwan, Cillian Lawlor; Tomás Campbell, Emmet Keeling, Dáire Reville; Fiach Ó Crualaoich (0-2), David Gouldson (0-1); Conor Halligan (0-3), Shane Howard (1-3), Jack O'Leary (0-1); Glen Murphy-Butler (0-6, 5 frees), Pádraigh Farrell (1-1), Chris Glover (1-1). Subs. - John Clancy for Ó Crualaoich, Dean Walsh for Campbell, Eoin Roche for O'Leary, Paddy Glover for C. Glover.

Rapparees: Jim Connors; Chris Doyle, Cathal Ryan, Joe Carley; Mark Redmond, Eoin Quigley, Anthony Peare; Peter O'Sullivan, Dylan McVeigh; Gary Murphy (0-2), Tom Ryan, Craig Foley (1-2); Conor Ryan, John Ryan (2-2), Neil McCrea (2-3, 0-3 frees).

Referee: James Flood (St. Mary's, Maudlintown).

New Ross Standard