Wednesday 21 February 2018

Gorey pay the penalty

A MARK Rellis goal from a penalty nine minutes from the end proved the decisive score as Geraldine O'Hanrahans snatched two valuable points at the expense of Naomh Eanna in this Intermediate 'A' football championship game at St. Patrick's Park on Saturday last.

Two depleted sides served up an average game, but Geraldine O'Hanrahans will be happy to have taken the points in the absence of their inter-county Senior, Shane Roche. While it may have taken a penalty to separate the sides in the end, the Barrowsiders were the more impressive outfit and but for wayward finishing would have been out of sight in the closing stages.

Naomh Eanna, a side that showed many changes from their opening game, struggled as a result. While the defence managed to cope satisfactorily for three-quarters of the game, the lack of penetration in attack came back to haunt them in the end.

Two David O'Brien points, one free, had Namoh Eanna ahead inside twelve minutes of the start, with the Ross town side having to wait until the 13th minute for their opening score, a Kieran Butler pointed free. The same player went on to add two further points, one from a free, before David O'Brien responded with three pointed frees before the break to leave his side leading by 0-5 to 0-3 at the interval.

When Geraldine O'Hanrahans got back level by the 35th minute through two pointed Seán Culleton frees it looked as if they were about to push on for victory, but the Naomh Eanna response was positive as they bounced back for points from Michael Molloy (two) and Gearóid Cullen to regain the lead (0-8 to 0-5) with eleven minutes remaining.

Nine minutes from the end came the decisive score. Kieran Butler was fouled as he was about to shoot for goal, with Mark Rellis neatly tucking away the resulting penalty. The Barrowsiders went on to control the closing ten minutes, adding further points through Butler (free), Reillis and Eoin Kelly which enabled them to see off the Naomh Eanna challenge.

Geraldine O'Hanrahans: Michael Cleere; David McCarthy, Conor Cleere, Seán Crowdle; James Ryan, Matt Crowdle, Dylan Egan; Seán Culleton (0-2 frees), Jamie Cullen; Ricky Doyle, David Crowdle, Kieran Butler (0-4, 3 frees); Eoin Kelly (0-1), Mark Rellis (1-1, 1-0 pen.), Stephen Somers. Sub. - John Sutton for Somers.

Naomh Eanna: Mark McDonagh; Ross Murphy, Lee Kinsella, Pádraig Doyle; Joseph O'Connor, Peter Travers, James Byrne; John O'Brien, Paul Redmond; Seán Doyle, Alan Molloy, David O'Brien (0-5, 3 frees); Michael Molloy (0-2), Niall Kirwan, John O'Brien. Sub. - Gearóid Cullen (0-1) for Kirwan.

Referee: Nicholas Kehoe (Cloughbawn).

New Ross Standard

Promoted Links

Promoted Links