Thursday 26 April 2018

Gorey girls celebrate Leinster glory

GOREY COMMUNITY School's Junior camogie side triumphed over Coláiste na Sionna of Banagher in the Leinster 'C' championship final in Ballinakill, Co. Laois, on Saturday last.

Heywood Community School's astro-turf pitch may not have suited the players, but the weather was beneficial with no breeze or rain. With five minutes gone, Orla Molloy weaved through the Banagher defence to score Gorey's first point.

Róisín Pierce assisted Caoimhe Molloy for a second point but their opponents responded sharply as courageous captain Gráinne Dolan hit the ball to the net. Dolan's next point was sandwiched by two well-taken Ellen Roche points.

The intense attacks of Gorey midfielder Hayley Murphy assisted sharpshooter Caoimhe Molloy in adding a second goal. The valiant defensive work of Lorna Cushe, Donna Morrissey and Róisín Egan kept the Banagher attacks at bay as Gorey led at the interval on a scoreline of 2-3 to 1-2.

The second-half was low-scoring, with Gorey's Ellen Roche pointing a free before her efforts were negated by Gráinne Dolan. The intensity heightened as Siobhán Reddin managed to sneak a goal past 'keeper Róisín Wheatley. Another exchange of points between Dolan and Orla Crowe meant that Gorey led by the minimum with ten minutes remaining.

Gráinne Dolan, Louise Flannery and Sinéad Flannery led Banagher advances but they were countered by the diligent Amy Dowdall, Hayley Murphy and Róisín Egan. With the tension at boiling point, the final whistle sounded and led to scenes of jubilation as Gorey captain, Ciara Goland, was presented with the Coláiste Laighin Perpetual Trophy.

Camogie teams in Gorey Community School have had a good track record in the past year as the Seniors reached the Leinster semi-final against the same opposition last month. The side is trained by the tremendous trio of Mary Leacy, Muireann McCarthy and Fionán Casey.

Because of prior appointments, the two female teachers could not manage the team on Saturday last. However, the generous commitment of Margaret Leacy, Joe Roche and Seán O'Brien meant that the girls were keenly focused on victory. They now advance to the All-Ireland semi-final which will be played on Saturday, February 23.

Gorey C.S.: Róisín Wheatley; Lorna Cushe, Aoibheann Doyle, Aoife Hughes; Róisín Egan (all Naomh Eanna), Ciara Goland (capt.), Amy Dowdall; Donna Morrissey, Hayley Murphy; Ellen Roche (1-2), Ellen Kinsella (all Castletown-Liam Mellows), Orla Molloy (0-1); Róisín Pierce, Orla Crowe, Caoimhe Molloy (1-1, all Naomh Eanna). Subs. - Muireann O'Connor, Nadine Kenny (both Naomh Eanna), Hannah Morrissey, Denise Byrne, Niamh Donnelly, Denise Coade (all Castletown-Liam Mellows).

Banagher: Ruth Fogarty; Saidbh McIntyre, Danielle Walshe, Cora McEvoy; Méabh Doorley, Ann Daly, Olwyn Kenny; Gráinne Dolan (1-4), Aoife McLoughlin; Louise Flannery, Sinéad Flannery, Helena Silke; Shauna Duane (1-0), Claire Turley, Siobhán Reddin. Subs. - Shauna Keane, Róisín Kelly, Róisín McDonagh, Hannah Plunkett, Louise Corcoran, Yvonne Ryan, Celine Cleary, Gráinne Minnock, Eva Camon, Ciara O'Sullivan, Ciara Tierney, Mary Ellen McMahon, Áine McGarry, Sinéad Moran.

New Ross Standard