Friday 14 December 2018

Splashes of brilliance at CU art competition

Credit Union art competition winners pictured recently at New Ross Credit Union
Credit Union art competition winners pictured recently at New Ross Credit Union

New Ross Credit Union was the venue for the county Chapter stage of the Credit Union Art Competition recently.

The theme this year was 'Set Your Imagination Free' and the entrants definitely achieved this, Anne St Ledger of New Ross Credit Union said. All schools were encouraged to submit entries and the organisers were inundated with fantastic artwork. There are two categories General and Special and the age ranges from under 7 to 18 plus.

The winners from Chapter level which includes the following Credit unions New Ross, Gorey, Wexford, Enniscorthy, Cleariestown, Carnew and Arklow go forward to the national competition where they will receive their awards at a ceremony held in Croke Park this month. General category winners: 1st Sofia Kennedy, Gorey CU, 2nd Sophie Redmond, Clongeen NS, New Ross CU, 3rd Joe Power, St Margaret's NS, Curracloe; 8-10: 1st Milly Scott Frame, St Anne's Rathangan, Cleariestown CU, 2nd Matas Zagarkis, Bunscoil Rís, New Ross CU, 3rd Elise Doyle, Ballyduff NS, Gorey CU; 11-13 1st Kyla Quirke, CBS Secondary School, New Ross CU, 2nd Erin Doyle, Ballyduff NS, Gorey CU, 3rd Hannah Kehoe, St Fintan's NS, Taghmon, Enniscorthy CU; 14-17 Joint 1st Orla Redmond, Bunclody Vocational College, New Ross CU and Ciara Scullion, Selskar College, Wexford CU, 2nd Eva Murphy, Gorey Community School, Gorey CU; 18+ 1st Aoibhinn Kinsella, Gorey Community School, Gorey CU, 2nd Olivia Furlong, Ramsgrange Community School, New Ross CU.

Special Category winners: 7 & Under: 1st Ben Priestly,. Clongeen NS, New Ross CU, 2nd Amy Fortune, Our Lady of Fatima NS, Wexford CU, 3rd Sam Harpur, Avoca NS, Gorey CU; 8-10 1st Bruce Fitzpatrick, Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford CU, 2nd Patrick Redmond, St Pat's NS, Gorey CU, 3rd Sam Ronan, Clongeen NS, New Ross CU; 11-13 1st Lilli O'Brien Dobbs, Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford; 14-17 1st Mike Leary Leamur, Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford CU, 2nd John Cunningham, St Mary's Coolfancy, Carnew; 18+ 1st Venus Reilly, Gorey CU, 2nd Martina Breen, Windmill TTU, Wexford CU, 3rd Jim Byrne CWCW, Enniscorthy CU.

New Ross Standard