Monday 21 January 2019

A mighty display of ploughing skill

Eamon White from Rathangan and Tommy Cullen from Killag
Eamon White from Rathangan and Tommy Cullen from Killag

David Looby

Hardy Wexford ploughmen braved cold temperatures in Oldross recently for one of the first ploughing competitions in the area this year.

A large crowd attended to see the ploughmen compete across a number of categories. World champion ploughman Martin Kehoe came first in the Senior Conventional division, followed by champion ploughman Eamon Treacy and Sean Keating.

Frank Cullen won the Under-28 category, followed by Tomas Cullen. William Kehoe came first in the Macra category, followed by Shane Caulfield in second place.

Dickie Byrne won the Three Furrow category, followed by Billy Donnelly and Martin Hanlon. Sean Kehoe won the Under-21 category followed by Colm Kane. In the Vintage Tractor Plough Willie Murphy came first, followed by Jim Cullen. Eamon Murphy won the Horse event.

The TVO category was won by James Barron, followed by James Stafford and Eamonn White. The Classic category was won by John Walsh, followed by Aidan O'Neill and John Moore. The Single Furrow competition was won by Phil Jackman, with Oliver Power coming in second place and David Levingstone in third place.

The Under-28 Reversible category was won by Enda Wickham, followed in second place by Stephen Whelan. The Std Reversible category was won by Frances Harney, followed by Noel Byrne and the Senior Reversible category was won by Dan Donnelly, followed by Declan Buttle in second place and John Whelan in third place.

The ploughmen put on a mighty display for the crowd of spectators, who enjoyed a great day in Oldross.

New Ross Standard