Monday 20 November 2017

Winners unveiled



THE spotlight was turned on unsung local heroes as the category winners were announced for this year's County Wexford Rehab People of the Year Awards.

The eight winners unveiled last week at a ceremony in the Swan Training Centre in the Faythe were selected under different categories but have one thing in common. Each winner has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the local community in a voluntary capacity.

All of the winners, who will attend the Rehab People of the Year Awards ceremony later in the month, have shown a commendable commitment to improving the lives of others in a wide range of areas.

Everything from community development, to the arts and job creation qualify groups and individuals for consideration for a County Wexford People of the Year award.

Each of the 2012 category winners brings something different to the mix. From recently retired RTE newscaster Anne Doyle, in the Communications section, to the Bannow Rathangan Show Committee, in the Rural Development section, the different categories ensure that each and every aspect to life in County Wexford is represented.

One of the eight announced last Thursday night will be selected for the overall Person of the Year Award which is sponsored by Wexford County Council. All will be revealed on Friday, March 23 at a gala ceremony in the Riverside Park Hotel, Enniscorthy, when RTE'S Eileen Dunne will hand out the awards to each category winner and announce the overall winner.

This is the tenth anniversary of the awards which are the most prestigious of their kind in the county. On Thursday night Hugh Maddock, Area Organiser with Rehab, stressed the importance of the awards, stating that they 'recognise the endeavours of both individuals and groups who have work tirelessly for the betterment of their local community'.

The County Wexford People of the Year Awards are sponsored by Wexford County Council, the Rehab People of the Year Commitee, the Wexford People, John A. Sinnott Solicitors, Wexford Farmer's Co-op, Property Team M.A. O'leary and the Riverside Park Hotel.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links