Wednesday 19 June 2019

'Wexit' group of five resign

A mass walk out of directors of New Ross & District Chamber of Commerce has left the business representative body in New Ross reeling ahead of a crucial vote on amalgamation with Gorey and Wexford chambers.

The 'Wexit' group of five local businesspeople: Billy Ryan, Aidan Quigley, Sean Sutton, Jenny Murphy O'Neill and Margaret O'Hanlon resigned en masse in late May, as did two other high profile local board directors Sean Connick and Keith Groarke, leaving the board with only five members.

Chamber PRO Lorcan Kinsella said a huge amount of time and energy has gone into trying to organise the amalgamation which around 100 chamber members will have the chance to vote on in late July.

A vote in March was adjourned after some members sought more time to decide and absorb the details of the proposed merger with Gorey and Wexford chambers, whose members have already voted for the amalgamation.

Mr Kinsella said following the resignation of the five members, who contacted the chamber on the same day notifying the body that they were resigning from their roles which several had only taken on weeks previously, the chamber is currently recruiting additional directors. He said the town and area has been offered an unprecedented opportunity to form a new chamber office in New Ross with around €240,000 in funding provided by Wexford County Council for its first three years, and to change the narrative by developing a strong voice for the area through the new Co Wexford structure.

New Ross Standard