Wednesday 16 October 2019

St Joseph's athletes dance the night away after year of superb performances

Austin Lee received the masters athlete track & field award; Pat Power, chairperson and Marie Griffin received the masters cross country and road award
Austin Lee received the masters athlete track & field award; Pat Power, chairperson and Marie Griffin received the masters cross country and road award
Eoin Kennedy, Tullogher; Sophie Mullally, Glenmore; Áine McDonald, Tullogher and Jordan Knight, Thomastown
Katie Tayloe received the female juvenile award; Dave Deniffe, Kilkenny county secretary and Jordan Knight who received the male juvenile award.
Eddie Manning received the Hall of Fame award from Pat Power, chairperson
Frances Mullally and Margaret O’Connor, over 45 county shield winners; Dave Denieffe, Kilkenny country secretary; Susan Lanigan and Marie Griffin, over 40 county shield winners
Caoimhe Barry received the club juvenile award from chairperson Pat Power.
Shane Power received the male athlete award, Pat Power, chairperson and Sophie Becker received the female athlete award

David Looby

Runners from across the district enjoyed a great night in the Rhu Glenn at St Joseph's Athletic Club's annual dinner dance.

A enthusiastic crowd turned up to celebrate the achievements of club athletes at county, provincial, national and international level in 2018. The club has set out on its second half century in existence as one of the stalwart athletic clubs in County Kilkenny producing athletes at juvenile, senior and masters level in track and field, cross country and race walking. The county secretary David Denieffe represented Kilkenny AAI county board at the dinner dance.

A number of club members were presented with awards for both their athletic achievements and for trojan work in ensuring that the club continues to thrive.

The success of Katie Taylor, Jordan Knight, Sophie Becker and Shane Power at national level throughout 2018 ensured that they won the female juvenile, male juvenile, female senior and male senior awards respectively.

Austin Lee won the masters track and field award with Maria Griffin winning the masters cross-country and road award. The club juvenile of the year denoting an athlete whose commitment and attitude presents a positive role model to all young athletes was won by Caoimhe Barry.

The fastest marathon award for male and female club members was won by David Duggan and Sally Forristal respectively. The club person of the year was won by club secretary and coach Oriel Glennon reflecting the amazing work that she does week in week out in the club.

The Hall of Fame award went to Eddie Manning, another person synonymous with everything good that has happened in St Joseph's over many years.

After enjoying a wonderful meal, the athletes danced the night away to music from the Bottlebrothers.

The history of the club can be traced back to July 1934 at Weatherstown, where a sporting fixture took place in what was described as the largest and best attended event ever held in the area.

It wasn't until 1968 when a new club was formed in an old pump house in Ballycurran. As many of the athletes were from Tullogher, the new St. Joseph's A.C. had its base at Ballycurran Cross. The first involvement of ladies in athletics came in 1970, and within a year the club had a juvenile section. A long distance section was added in the 80s and over the years the club has produced many top athletes and has been a great social outlet in the area.

New Ross Standard